RSS Feed

Sporadic Blogging


Sounds like some kind of a disease.

And it kinda is, I guess. One born out of laziness.

I love to blog. And, yes, I love that there are people out there reading what I have to say (THANK YOU!) But, the truth of the matter is, I don’t do it because I “expect” that a whole mess of people are going to read it and have their lives changed because of something I wrote.

I do it because I LOVE to write. Plain and simple.

But lately I’ve been pretty lazy about it. Blogging sporadically. There are no hard and fast rules to blogging, especially when it comes to frequency of publication, but I’ve come to expect that I will blog every day, or close to it. And I haven’t been doing it.

So what’s up?

Partly, it’s because this is supposed to be a blog about my creative journey, and I haven’t been very creative lately. Partly it’s because my mind has been mostly on politics, and I don’t like blogging on that topic here, unless I just HAVE to. Partly it’s because my primary focus (outside of providing excellent day care for my grandchildren) has been making sure I’m getting in my 10,000 steps every day. And partly it’s because I’ve just gotten lazy. Yep. Me. The energizer bunny. Or I should say, the “former” energizer bunny. I’ve gotten lazy about putting my thoughts into words.

I allowed myself to take a few days off, and that’s thrown off my whole routine. I haven’t been able to get back onto a schedule. And I’ve been terribly undisciplined.  I NEED routine and schedules and discipline, if I have any hope of doing what I intend to do. What I want to do.

AND, I’ve fallen into the habit of playing spider solitaire on the computer. It’s a worse time suck than Facebook. I start, then come up for air three hours later. Three hours of completely unproductive time that I’ll never get back. And I do it night, after night, after night.

If it’s not that, it’s sudoku.

And it needs to stop.

I think I’m a little OCD. And maybe it’s getting worse. I seem to need to do the same thing over and over. At least it’s not washing my hands or checking to make sure I locked the doors twenty times. But it is getting a little ridiculous.

I should be scrapbooking. But that requires a degree of creativity – varying what I’m doing from layout to layout. That doesn’t, however, feed the OCD.

Uh-oh. I think I may have stumbled onto something here. I need to do a little research on OCD. Wonder if it’s something you can overcome on your own? Ha! I love this self-diagnosis. And you thought I was just a little bit nuts! Heeheehee!

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. You “should” stop the shoulds! Or change your expectations of yourself. Or, I don’t know…. I’m the same way!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

