RSS Feed

My New Obsession (oh, no, not ANOTHER one!)


The good news is that this one will be short-lived, as we’ll be leaving Maui in a few days.

We discovered (quite by accident) a new yummy place to eat.

We’d been to Coconuts for lunch one day (GREAT veggie burgers!) and Andra happened to notice that a little shop a couple of doors down was selling fresh Maui lemonade, so she bought one to have with our burgers. It was so good, we went back for more! And I noticed a couple eating what looked like a great fruit bowl, and I asked if it was as good as it looked. She and her boyfriend both said yes, and she volunteered that they’d been there 4 out of 5 days since discovering them, and were having their last one before leaving the island.

We made a note to come back the next day!

Come back, we did.

And Aloha Wow Wow Lemonade has become my new favorite haunt. I think I’m at 9 out of 10 days now, and counting. That might be a SLIGHT exaggeration, but not by much!

The lemonade is REALLY good (especially the Mrs. Yees Mango lemonade,) but the “Brahdah” acai/pitaya (dragon fruit) bowls are ridiculous. There are about six combinations, but the Haupia Ono is my favorite – granola and coconut custard smothered with a smoothy concoction fit for the Gods, then topped with more granola, fresh kula strawberries, organic blueberries and apple bananas, drizzled with Hawaiian honey and capped off with a couple of macaroons. After the first one, I held the macaroons and added hemp seeds instead (it was just too much like dessert and I was feeling guilty!)

wowwow2-w

Now that I think about it, I only had a couple of bites of Da Kine, which was good, but not as good as mine, and I hesitate to even try anything else for fear it won’t be as good! Heeheehee! I’m in a rut, but it’s a happy rut!

The shop is in a strip mall, but has pretty cute decor including crates that hold the fresh fruit they use, and “spam” cans for their centerpieces. Spam is VERY popular in Hawaii!

wowwow1-w

 

The big question is will I continue to be happy, beyond this year? The retail atmosphere in Kehei is VERY challenging. Stella Blues, which was a Kehei institution for 23 years closed their doors last year (we were SHOCKED to see it gone!) so it could happen to anyone. I’m hoping like crazy they are able to survive, but there’s not a lot I can do to help. They already have MY business. So, I did a Trip Advisor review, and a Yelp review, and I’m going to talk it up whenever I get the chance (like at yoga class – that seems like a place where the people might be their target audience.) It’s the best I can do.

And if any of you happen to make it over here and can help a sistah out… I’d sure appreciate it!

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

