RSS Feed

Through a Tattered Lens – Maui Style


Well, we’re half way through our 2014 visit to Maui, and I thought it was time to show you some of the images that are dear to my heart so far. From food, to flora and fauna, natural beauty, and more, it’s been a photographer’s dream…

So let’s start with the view from our lanai (patio)…

maui2014-7-w

One of many “Maui Sunsets”

maui2014-6-w

It’s been rainy this year, but rain brings rainbows – even doubles!

Some of our favorite food…

maui2014-2-w

 Mrs. Yees Golden Glow Mangoes – the best on the island! Maybe the world…

maui2014-11-w

 Papayas – fresh!

maui2014-10-w

Exceptionally good (and ginormous!) avocados

maui2014-9-w

Amazing fresh food – see the cute little slice of starfruit garnish?

Different kinds of critters…

maui2014-16-w

Feral goats down at La Perouse Bay

maui2014-15-w

Endangered Ae’o (Hawaiian Stilt)  birds at Kealia Pond

Maui2014-1-wBest photo of a breaching  Humpback Whale I’ve gotten in the 20 years we’ve been coming here!

maui2014-12-w

A live sea urchin…

maui2014-3-w

…and a skeleton washed up on the beach.

Then there’s the “other stuff…”

maui2014-4-w

like the beach I love to walk

maui2014-13-w

You can find stacked rocks all over – there’s actually quite a controversy over them. Some people find them disrespectful, others think they’re beautiful. We have found them on many islands and really, anywhere you find pile of rocks. I find them very interesting and harmless.

maui2014-14-w

Monkey pod trees – one of my very favorite trees

And then there are the hibiscus flowers…

maui2014-5-wThe varieties of hibiscus are many. I’ve been photographing each as I find it!

But my favorite view of all is my hand wrapped around that of a grandchild…

maui2014-8-w

Thanks so much for sharing my views of the island. I’ll have more to show you as we continue our exploration!

Aloha!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

3 responses »

  1. Graham Hoerauf

    Needs more Chief. But overall, really cool!

    Reply
  2. Absolutely gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

