RSS Feed

Tasmania! Wait, Wut?


Um, yeah. We went to Tasmania. I don’t know if I could have found it on a map, but it is an island principality off the south east coast of Australia, once a penal colony.

We liked New Zealand, but we LOVE Tasmania. If we like the small part of Australia we will be seeing, it’s going to require a second visit, as we’d really like to come back to Tasmania.

Hobart is a really cute port town full of history, cool stories and great architecture. But that’s not what I’m going to share with you today. Today, it’s all about the wildlife. Well, sorta wild.

We went to the Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary. It is a rescue center and hospital for wild animals. There are 80 kangaroos that call it home, as well as Tasmanian Devils, Wombats (which somehow we missed) Koala Bears, and lots of birds.

I have been excited to get up close and personal with kangaroos for so long. And this was it. Never would happen in the actual wild.

There were buckets of complimentary food we could feed them. I guess we weren’t performing adequately, and this guy took matters into his own hands…

bonorong4-w

For a change we had plenty of time, and I got to feed them a lot…

bonorong7-w

 

bonorong8-w

They like getting scratched under their chins!

This was a surprise…look closely.

bonorong1-w

I’m like, “what the heck? Is that a…” Yeah.

bonorong2-w

Mama and her joey.

bonorong3-w

How precious is that?

bonorong6-w

Cute hands and foot.

bonorong9-w

Man can they jump!

bonorong5-w

I’m pretty much in Heaven.

But, there WERE other animals. The Tasmanian Devils were pretty darn cute. They got their name because they make a high pitched screeching noise when they feed. It’s not a mean thing, just something they do to scare off other critters that might want to steal their food, and they ended up scaring people into calling them devils!

bonorong11-w

bonorong10-w

The Blue-tongued lizards were pretty cool.

bonorong12-w

As were these geese. I loved the green bills.

bonorong13-w

And of course, these cuddly creatures. I would have loved to hold one, but getting close was enough (I guess, it’ll have to be, huh?)

bonorong14-w

bonorong16-w

Yeah, I’m pretty sure I need to come back.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I live in Tasmania!!! Imagine me finding your blog today and the first thing I read is that you went to Tasmania. Your photos are great, you captured the wildlife perfectly althought the Koala isn’t a native of Tasmania and only lives in zoos here. Jude

    Reply

Leave a Reply

