RSS Feed

Reconnecting With Mary Frances


I met Mary Frances a number of years ago in Atlanta, Georgia. We hit it off instantly. Almost love at first sight. Her unique, one of a kind look caught my eye and we became fast friends.

For years she’d come and visit me at my store. Each time was like a breath of fresh air. But over time, her time her visits became less and less frequent, and we lost touch.

Well, we’ve reconnected.

 

maryfrances2-w

Confused? Okay, so I’m being a little silly!

Mary Frances isn’t a person, she’s a line of purses and other accessories. I used to carry them at my store back in the day. And I LOVED them.

But my clientele didn’t love them as much as I did (or maybe they loved them, but didn’t like the price – they’re a little spendy) and so I was unable to continue giving them space in the shop. As much as loved them, I’m kinda surprised I didn’t keep up on her line. But, in fact, I pretty much forgot all about them, and all these years have never tried to find them. Back in those days there was no internet or web pages where you could keep up on things like that, and I just have never thought about trying to find her again since internet shopping came into being.

Then we were in a little boutique out in the middle of nowhere, and there they were. A whole display of lusciousness. Even Mr. Tattered recognized that they look just like me!

maryfrances-w

They are kinda mixed-media, a little mosaic-y looking, eclectic, slightly tattered…yeah, they’re me.

Well, almost me. I really prefer a shoulder strap, so I’m toying with the idea of committing sacrilege, and amending them a little. I may use my jewelry-making skills and extend the handles so I can through it over my shoulder. Shhhhhh! Mary Frances  doesn’t need to know! Oh, and there’s one more I may need, as well. I’m going to look on line first, but if I can’t find something similar…hey, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

So the clerk at the counter asked if I collect them. Collect them?! I never even thought of THAT! OMG! I have a whole shelf I could use. This is not good. This is not good at all.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. I love them!

    Reply
  2. I had to google them and they are fun looking. What a wonderful craft project.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

