RSS Feed

The Giant’s House


So we signed up for a tour at each port on this trip. We didn’t do a lot of investigating, we just found something that sounded interesting and went with it, and we did it so long ago, we can’t remember what we signed up for. It makes for an adventure every day.

Today we were in Akaroa, South Island, New Zealand. It’s a sleepy little village on the edge of a volcano. Who knew what wonders we would discover.

It started with a visit to a working sheep station, and a demonstration of how the dogs work the sheep,

sheepstation2-w

 

sheepstation1-w

followed by a shearing demonstration.

sheepstation3-w

 

sheepstation4-w

It was all quite interesting, and getting there and back there were beautiful views. The guide told us lots of stories, and explained the devastation that occurred in Christchurch when the earthquakes hit about 10 years back…they still haven’t recovered.

But the real gem of the day was our last stop. The Giant’s House. We had no idea what it was to be. The bus pulled up to a nondescript driveway in a residential area and let us off with instructions to follow the short steep driveway.

And we were nothing short of flabbergasted at what awaited us at the end of the short trek.

We were greeted by our hostess, Josie Martin, the artist that created the delights we were about to see. Trust me on this, as amazing as the photos are, they just don’t do justice to what we were seeing.

gianthouse1-w

Josie bought the house about 19 years ago. While digging in the garden she discovered a bunch of buried pottery, and set it aside, not knowing what to do with it. When a section of walkway needed repair, she remembered the pottery and decided to try her hand at making a mosaic, and the rest is history.

Sit back and enjoy…this is sooooooo cool!

gianthouse2_w

Every surface was covered with mosaic, even the handrails up the stairs.

gianthouse3-w

gianthouse4-w

gianthouse6-w

gianthouse5-w

gianthouse7-w

gianthouse8-w

gianthouse10-w

gianthouse9-w

gianthouse12-w

gianthouse13-w

gianthouse14-w

gianthouse17-w

gianthouse15-w

gianthouse18-w

gianthouse16-w

And my very favorite…

gianthouse11-w

 

This hit me right in my 10 ring (as Mr. Tattered said!) and I couldn’t agree more. We only had an hour, and I haven’t shown nearly all the displays, the house, or any of the gorgeous flowers. I could have spent the better part of the day here. AND, I discovered on-line after we left, it’s a B & B! I’m pretty sure this calls for another trip to New Zealand!

I’ve had an interest in mosaics for awhile now. This pushed me over the edge. I’ll be signing up for a mosaic class just as soon as we get home, if not sooner.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

5 responses »

  1. Holy s*”t!!! What an AWESOME place. That does it… Australia has been on my bucket list, with a side to New Zealand. I have to go here. Thanks for sharing such an amazing place.

    Reply
  2. Awesome!! Thanks for sharing these great pics.

    Reply
  3. I have always wanted to see sheep shearing. They offered it at the fair one year, but my friend Sally got sick about the time I wanted to head that way.

    That is a simply beautiful bunch of photos of the mosaics. I ask all my friends for their broken china, pottery, and anything else I can use to make things. Glad you enjoyed the time you spent there.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Antoni Gaudi | Tattered 'n Worn

Leave a Reply

