RSS Feed

How Can I Be Behind When The Year Just Started?


I’m not REALLY behind just yet.

In fact, I’m sort of ahead if you count that Christmas is already down and put away. Normally I don’t even START until today, and the last of it went up into the storage racks in the garage yesterday.

But I can see that I WILL be behind real quickly.

Someone had the brilliant idea of going on a trip for the whole month of January. Someone obviously forgot how hard it is to shift from the Christmas crazies into new year organization without some down time in-between. Oh, yeah. That would be me. What was I thinking? Don’t get me wrong. I’m excited about going and I know it will be a blast, but it came so fast, and I’m SOOOOOOOOOO not ready to be gone for so long.

One of these years I will hit the ground running on January 1st, but this will NOT be that year.

In my semi-demented way of getting ahead of myself, I am already mentally setting aside a portion of September 2015 to start the prep work for 2016. You’d think my brain would feel a little more pressured to get 2015 figured out first, but creative minds are seldom tidy – they go where they want to go, when they want to go there. OY!

So. My word for this year is IGNITE, and maybe that’s what is happening. I’m firing on all cylinders and then some!

But, first things, first.

I had planned on taking a bunch of art/scrapbook supplies with me on this little trip, but come to find out, instead of the 3 suitcases plus 2 carry-ons we normally take, we’ll be limited to 2 + 2. Whole different ball game. SO, unless I want to be doing laundry every third day (and trust me on this, I DON’T) the art supplies need to stay home. Which may turn out to be a good thing. Instead of painting or scrapbooking, I can work on putting a plan for the year together. The other stuff can go our next trip (we leave on it 2 1/2 weeks after we get home from this one!)

So, my go bag will look quite a bit different this trip. No paint or brushes or gesso, no scissors or stencils or photographs or adhesives. No ink, stamps, gelli plates, brayers or embellishments. Even the journal for Documented Life Program/One Little Word/Journal 52 will need to stay home. That’s where the being behind comes into play… By the time we return, I will be a whole month behind.

gobag2-w

(Yeah, this guy’s staying home…)

To mitigate that, I’ll take just enough paper to make my monthly calendars for the DLP journal, and the pens I need for them. Not just one white pen like last time, but 3. I HATED running out in the middle of nowhere! I’ll take one notebook for documenting the trip day by day, and another for drawing out what I’ll put into the DLP/OLW/J52 when I get home, along with lists and lists and lists of all the projects I want to tackle as a part of my “ignition” this year. Remember, this is the year I make a huge dent in all the unfinished projects I have laying around.

gobag

(Wow. That’s a lot of empty space…)

The first step for that will be documenting the tasks ahead of me and breaking them down into small, doable pieces. I might even get crazy and break them into types of projects – Art projects I started and lost interest in, things I need to do to return the garden to its former glory, continuing the job of making our house more functional for the way we live, gifts for my family.

Another section of the notebook could be a dedicated editorial idea section for my blog. Sometimes the ideas come so fast and furious I can’t even remember them all. Other times I completely zone out. How nice to have a bunch of my own prompts to go to!

Anyway. The point is, I want to get off to a good start this year. And going on a fun trip to some places we’ve never been is a really great way to do that. AND, I’m trying to be organized enough to spend some of my down time on the trip doing things that will help me hit the ground running when I get home.

Now THAT is building on my word from last year “organize” (the organizational” skills I worked on) AND and exploding with my new word for this year,”ignite” when we get home. I love it when things work out that way. It’s enough to almost make me forget I’m going to be behind.

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Safe travels and Happy New Year, Janet. At least you have a plan, I fear I’m drifting sideways into this new year without a clear direction. Lots of family obligations in January, I’m thinking I may have to consider February 1st, the beginning of the new year. Hope you have an amazing time and come back renewed and refreshed.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Mary! Aside from the fact that I’ll have some planning time available (she says confidently) I’m feeling the same way. Watch, I’ll get the reading bug and won’t touch the planner! Heeheehee! Anyway, it’s all good. The year starts when it starts, and if January if family time, that’s a good thing!

      Reply
  2. Enjoy your travels. this is the first year I haven’t had to work between semesters, and it feels good not to feel behind before I even get started! Not that I expect that will last long, ah well as you say creative minds are NOT tidy beasts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

