RSS Feed

Happy Birthday, Jesus!


Yeah, we celebrate the secular Christmas, with a Christmas Tree, The Elf on the Shelf and Santa Claus.

But, in honor of the birth of Christ, we also have a birthday cake for Jesus every year, on Christmas Eve. I like to find a fun, new cake every year. We’ve done trains, a variety of trees and a simple cupcake one year… (I don’t remember why that happened!)

This year I discovered the Wilton gingerbread cookie tree and decide to give that a whirl!

The set comes with nested stars that stack to form a tree.
HBJesus6-w

The gingerbread cookie recipe that comes with the set is pretty darn good, and makes enough cookies for the tree with a bit left over for just regular cookies, if you are so inclined.

You cut out two of each size…

HBJesus5-w

And bake them and let them cool.

HBJesus4-w

Then you frost the cookies and stack them, offsetting as you build up.

HBJesus3-w

Once I got them all stacked, I decorated the tree with a variety of cute little sprinkles, and added a gold star and a candle.

HBJesus2-w

The kids could hardly wait to blow out the candle, sing Happy Birthday to Baby Jesus and dig in.

HBJesus-w

But I think the gingerbread taste was a little strong for them. They liked the fudge a LOT better!

Now I need to keep an eye out for next year’s cake idea! And, note to self, not gingerbread!

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve been so sick and finally able to sit a few minutes to visit. Trying to catch up, but it’s nearly hopeless, even when I try my own form of “ignite.”

    I bought a set exactly like that in the late 1980s. I made the tree one time, not out of gingerbread, but sugar cookie dough. It was fun to make, but once was definitely enough. I think I should find the kit and give it to someone who would actually make it (grin). Thanks for the memories.

    BTW, loved the pickled hubby and daughter.

    Reply
    • Ha! And here I thought it was a new-fangled thing! Glad I could spark a happy memory. I’ll have to try it with sugar cookies. We have a special recipe that would work well. It was pretty easy as far as these things go, so I can see myself doing it again.

      I was so sorry to hear you are ill. I hope you bounce back soon. I’ve missed you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

