RSS Feed

It’s Been Awhile…


I haven’t blogged for 13 days. 13 days.

It’s not that I’ve been a slug, or even had better things to do. I’ve been horribly depressed over the election and have not been able to work up any passion for anything since.

Barely 36% of eligible voters cared enough to get off their butts and do the one thing that is our birthright in this country. It was given to white males at the inception of our country, and fought for by minorities and women.  But only 36% got to decide where this country will spend it’s energy and resources for the next two years. And it ain’t gunna be pretty.

So. Here we are.

November is Art Every Day Month. I’ve participated for the past 2 years, and had every intention of doing it again this year. But I haven’t been able to make myself do art. Or even make myself write – something I normally do almost every day. Day after day I’ve sat at my blank screen wondering what’s the point? No one cares about the REALLY important things in life (like voting) so why would they care about what’s going on in my life?

And you know what? 13 days of not doing art and not writing hasn’t changed a thing. It’s still the same world I woke up to the day after the election (maybe even worse.) And I’ve lost out on 13 days worth of joy, and frankly, I’m a little upset with myself that I’ve allowed the 64% of people who didn’t vote rob me of my joy.

I’m resisting the urge to turn this into a political post. Well actually I didn’t resist, I wrote practically a novel and deleted it. But it made me feel better, and I think I’m ready to get back to the life I want to lead. I’ll need to do some compartmentalizing, but it won’t be the first time. I can do it.

Thanks for listening. Tomorrow I intend to art. Let’s see if it happens!

For all you AEDMers, thanks for your patience, and hopefully I’ll see you tomorrow! With actual art to show you! Heeheehee!

Today’s Gratitude?

I’m extremely grateful for having the right to vote. And grateful that I care enough to exercise it. No matter how mad I am, no matter how much the whole system stinks right now…

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. I hear you loud and clear. I voted, and didn’t change a thing. Those of us who care will do what we have always done–boots on the ground doing what we can to repair this broken world. Don’t stop the random acts of kindness and beauty you spread around. WE NEED IT!

    Reply
    • But even if nothing changed, you exercised your right (and I would suggest “obligation”) to participate, instead of throwing the decision into the lap of a stranger. I know that by allowing myself to be demoralized, I feed into their plan.

      Reply
  2. I know, Janet. I felt stunned by the results of the election, but please don’t stop doing what you do so well. The world needs your voice and your light.Sometimes I can’t believe we’re living in 2014. I just feel we’re sliding backwards into a world without science and rational thought. I just couldn’t wrap my mind around the low voter turnout, and wonder who these people are who don’t give a s#*%!
    Make art, my friend. XO, Mary

    Reply
    • We ARE sliding backwards. I think there is a desire to return to what people remember as simpler times, but I think many forget that those simpler times came with some horrible problems that they either tend to gloss over, or perhaps were even unaware were occurring because they were untouched by them and/or communications were not what they are today. People are crowing about their “mandate,” but there was no mandate – just a minority of people being given the decision making power for the whole group. Now we all get to live with it. I’m off to art! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Actually, that was NOT white males who were originally eligible to vote, but WHITE LANDOWNERS. Many white males didn’t have a voice, either.

    Our mid-term election was a bit better represented this year than the national average, but it didn’t do much good. One thing I voted against was a 1% sales tax to investigate how to increase jobs and improve our water. Why on earth do we need a sales tax to investigate ANYTHING? I was so glad when it didn’t pass, but my neighbor kept telling me we are going to run out of water by 2030 if we don’t figure out how to get more. Now I could see it, if we were adding a tax to build a new (albeit expensive) treatment facility that would change gray water into drinking water, but simply to send people around the country to see what others have done, sounds like free travel for a few people to me. I could do research from my computer and save the city a ton of travel expenses. And building a new treatment facility would create new jobs, so that issue would also be corrected.

    OK, off MY soapbox, too. So glad you are back. Missed you on Veterans Day. Used one of your photos, too. Now we just need to get you out of your funk.

    Reply
  4. I’ve got to go back and see your Veteran’s Day Post. I’m so glad you were able to use one of my photos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

