RSS Feed

EV Day #30 – Another Busy Day


Well, sad but true, we’re winding down our Italian adventure. Today was our last full day in Venice, and we were determined to make the most of it. So even though we had a light day with group activities, we were up and out on our own early.

Before I start with today, though, I have to tell you about the fabulous meal, or rather “dining experience” we had last night.

We have come to appreciate the joy of “dining.” We don’t do that so much in the US. The restaurants need to turn the tables so they can get in a second seating. You barely put down your fork after your dessert, and the check is there.

That’s not the case in much of Europe. When you sit down for the evening meal, the expectation is that the table is yours for the duration of the evening, no matter how long that is. Most times you have to ASK for your check. That’s one of the things we love about Europe.

Tonight we “dined” at a place called La Columbina.

lacolumbina1-w

Mr Tattered found it on Trip Advisor, having been given just tons of positive reviews.

Our new friends Mike and Mary Jo, joined us.

Our hostess Adrianna and her son, the chef, run the small, quaint, cozy, inviting restaurant that is off the beaten path. You could easily miss it if you didn’t know it was there.

We were greeted warmly, seated, then invited to look at the display case of appetizers. They explained each one, and we were able to choose which ones we wanted.

lacolumbina2-w

I opted to have a glass (or 2 – or was it 3? I forget now!) of Proseco. The other 3 are red wine drinkers and they discussed the benefits of several with the chef before making their selection. We were all very happy with out choices.

From appetizers we moved on to the most delicious soups.

The star of the evening was the Crispy Fried Canneloni, basically ricotta rolled in lasagna noodles, fried on the ends, tied together in darling little packets and topped with a delicious red sauce.

lacolumbina3-w

Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum. Oh, and did I mention, yum?

We knew we were going for gelato for dessert, but we wanted to try their version of Tiramisu, so we ordered one to share for the table, and were glad we did.

Between every course, the chef came out to see if we were pleased with his efforts. It was so sweet. And so, La Comumbina will be getting a glowing review from us, and by the time we get back, we may need a reservation a week in advance!

So. Back to today.

We had so much fun in the Rialto area, we headed back there, and I decided to do something a little crazy (who, me?) The last time we were there, I saw a little shop offering “fish pedicures.” Yeah. There was a girl inside with her feet in a glass tank, little fish fish swimming around nibbling at her feet. I laughed and continued on, but the more I thought about it, the more fun it sounded, so000000…I did it!

And it WAS fun! The whole idea is just a little gross – fish nibbling the dead skin off your feet – but then it’s kinda gross that a person would touch your feet and grind it off, so whatever!

fishped2-w

fishped1-w

It tickled at first, but you get used to it, and the very idea of trying something so off the wall was enough to make it a blast!

While I was enjoying it, 2 little girls about Hannah and Bea’s ages saw me and started begging their dad to let them do it. He said no and they walked off, but they apparently kept nagging and within a few minutes they were back signing up! I wish the girls had been there. I’m still wondering if they would have tried it!

Then we roamed around enjoying the area again…

wanderings3-w

wanderings2-w

wandering1-w

Before we knew it, it was time to meet up with our group and catch the vaporetto for Murano and a tour of the glass-making school.

murano3-w

murano4-w

As a part of the tour, some of us got to try it, me included, and let me tell you, it’s way harder than they make it look!

murano2-wOf, course it doesn’t help when they make you laugh!

murano1-w

Murano glass is beautiful, and the Chinese are making wonderful copies, but our guides showed us how to look for the real deal. I had hoped to buy a necklace made from it, but was unable to find any that was “me,” so I “settled” for necklace that was made by an Italian designer, and is made of Italian glass, but NOT Murano, just because I LOVE it and will think of Venice every time I wear it. Mr. Tattered encouraged me to get earrings to match (I think I’ll keep him!) but, in my own crazy way, I’m thinking I need to modify them just a bit (don’t tell the designer, K?)

Tonight was supposed to be our “good bye” dinner with our group, but were feeling like a romantic dinner alone for our last night in Venice, and scooted over to see if Adrianna could fit us in again, and she did, so we did a repeat of the night before.

We are so sad to be leaving, but also excited to begin our next adventure! Amsterdam, here we come!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. I so enjoy your sharing of this trip.. When I saw you, before I scrolled down, I thought,” she is glowing”. Obviously the fish suit you ! Hope your romantic dinner leads to a night of passion….God bless you both… Angels around you on your travels.

    Reply
  2. La Columbina sounds like my kind of restaurant, don’t suppose you can remember whereabouts it is can you as I’d love to try it with my sister when she visits next weekend! Great post, lovely pics!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

