RSS Feed

EV Day #24 – Michelangelo’s David (and more)


I am not an art snob. In fact, I know very little about it. I don’t know what makes something “good,” and, I can’t even tell one painter or sculptor of a certain style of art from another. I’ve never cared enough to even try. Until now.

But even I know what Michelangelo’s David looks like. And I was even looking forward to seeing it in person.

I was totally unprepared for getting goosebumps when I did!

The way it is set up, you go into the building, walk around a corner, then you see it off in the distance. And even then you can tell it is really big. And the goosebumps start. Wow.

david1-w

Then they get bigger the more you see…

david2-w

david3-w

david4-w

Some deranged man took a hammer to it, so it’s under better guard now. You can no longer get right up to it…

david5-w

Back in the main hallway were 4 of the 6 unfinished statues of Michelangelo. They were part of a set of 30 originally  commissioned by Pope Julius II to adorn his tomb. But the Pope died shortly thereafter, and the project was never completed. The 2 sculptures that were closer to completion are in the Louvre. They are called the “Slaves” or “Unfinished Giants” and are considered a bit of a mystery, as art historians are unable to agree on exactly why they are in such varying degrees of completion.

david6-w

In our wanderings the rest of the day, I took a bunch more random photos, and of course, some of them are doors…

moredoors1-w

moredoors2-w

We had a wonderful dinner with Mike and Mary Jo, and the best part (next to the great company!) was the cheese plate!

cheese-w_edited-1

I just LOVE Italian cheese plates. Oh, let’s be fair. I love anyone’s cheese plates. But Italian ones go particularly well with Italian wine, my current favorite!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Will you be shipping home a new door?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

