RSS Feed

EV Day #6 Soho and Camden Town (and lunch, and dinner!)


Today was supposed to be a “low photo” day. Nothing much going on during the day, then visiting with friends for dinner. Time to catch up and breath a little. We’ve been going, going, going day after day, and the idea of not much on the agenda sounded like such a good idea.

We had a leisurely morning then decided to check out a little veg restaurant that was supposed to be one of the best in London. We were NOT disappointed. Mildred’s is an unassuming little place on the outskirts of Soho. I LOVE it when food makes your mouth so happy you can’t stop smiling. This was one of those places…

soho9-w

 

soho8-w

After our late lunch we set out to Camden Town, by way of a very cute section of Soho. I texted my daughters to tell them to start packing, the lot of us are moving to Soho. That was before we saw a real estate listing for an old, refurbished, 2 bedroom apartment on the 20th floor for 2 MILLION $$$$. Burst that little bubble, didn’t it?

soho6-w

soho7-wsoho5-w

soho3-w

soho2-w

soho1-w

There’s more, oh so much more…

Although we would have liked to wander more, we needed to get up to Camden Town to meet a couple we met on our second cruise (they live in London!) for dinner. He (Tek) works as a volunteer at the Camden Locks and it was a good place to meet up. His wife, Jean, had suggested we have a walk-about around the Camden stalls until he got off work, at which time she’d pick us all up and we’d head to one of their favorite watering holes for a pint (or in my case a half pint!)

Well, I had no idea what the stalls were, and we didn’t allow NEARLY enough time.

Camden Town has turned into a crazy, funky international marketplace that just goes on forever. It was wilder and rougher than Soho, but just tons of fun.

camden7-w

camden6-w

camden5-w

camden1-w

camden2-w

camden3-w

camden4-w

 

And now I’m kinda wishin’ I had bought the red shoes with the 2 buckles and figured out how to get them home later… I’m going to be lusting for them for awhile.

Our nightly pint/half pint was shared with our friends…it was so fun to see them again. It was a little hard to wrap our heads around the fact that we were visiting them in their stomping grounds instead of on the ship! We had a great time. BUT. As I stood up to leave the pub…

flask-w

…I caught my foot on the table leg, reached out to steady myself on the table, and knocked my camera onto the cobblestone below. I may have killed it. The rest of the evening was a bit of a blur. I know we had a nice dinner, but I was really preoccupied with how I was going to manage 5 more weeks of an incredible vacation with an iphone camera OR replace it in London without spending an arm leg, and half of something else.  NOT a happy camper!

Thank goodness we’ll be seeing them again before we leave! Hopefully having found a solution to my dilemma.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

