RSS Feed

European Vacation – The Adventure Begins


Well, the long-awaited day has arrived.

We’re sitting at San Francisco International Airport waiting for our British Airlines flight to Heathrow, London to board. It’s an overnight flight, so we’re hoping to sleep through most of it!

usairport

Neither of us are big fans of GETTING to where we’re going (unless we’re on a cruise) so once we make the decision to put ourselves through the TSA experience, we like to make it worth our while.

This time we’re kinda doing three vacations in one – 2 1/2 weeks in London on our own (no tour.) We’ve got a long list of things we’re hoping to do, including meeting up with the two English couples we met on two of our cruises. Couple #1 (Gordon and Ann) lives in Ipswich, and we’ll be taking the train up to stay with them for a couple of days. Gordon and Mr. Tattered are two peas in a pod and keep Ann and I in stitches. Whatever we end up doing will involve lots of laughing.

Couple # two (Tek and Jean) live just 12 miles from where we are staying in London. They are in the middle of moving, and won’t have a lot of time available, but we’ll be going to dinner early in the trip, then right before we leave for the next leg, they are going to be our tour guides for a day trip to Paris. Yay!

We’ve been to London three times, but for just a few days at a time, and are looking forward to spending more concentrated time. There is just soooooooooo much to do!

Once we leave London, we’ll be on tours – first a Road Scholar tour of Rome, Florence and Venice for a two week immersion in art and architecture. My camera may spontaneously combust… I’ll be armed with a 32 gig camera card (I think that equates to nearly a thousand photos) and it wouldn’t surprise me if I come close to filling it up!

From there we head to Amsterdam. We’ll be staying in a place that looks like a palace for a couple of days before joining another Road Scholar tour via AMA Waterways for a two week river cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest, making stops in 6 countries along the way. Just the thought of all the castles along the rivers has me salivating. Once again, I’m expecting my camera to be smokin’!

I hope you’ll come along with us. I brought SOME art supplies, and I’m sure to have some “non-vacation” related thoughts I’ll just NEED to share along the way, but I’m guessing it’ll be mostly vacation photos (oh, no!) for weeks – some of it the normal, stuff, but you know me, they’ll mostly be through my “tattered” lens! Hopefully you’ll find some of it interesting!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

8 responses »

  1. Sounds like you’re in for quite an adventure. I’m Hungarian and always wanted to see Budapest, so take plenty of photos. Hungarians make wonderful pastries! And get some real Hungarian paprika while there. My cousin sent a bunch to lots of us when she was there.

    Reply
  2. Oh my gosh! How long are you away from home and however did you convince Mr. T to let you write about it? I can’t wait to see/hear more!

    Reply
    • Nearly 7 weeks, Naomi. I told him that everyone who reads my blog knows that I blog every day, so if I disappear then come back with stories about being away over and over, it doesn’t take a genius to figure out that if I’m not blogging, I’m gone.

      Reply
  3. You will have an awesome time and take much more than 1000 photos I’m quite sure. Safe travels!

    Reply
  4. Oh, what a fabulous adventure you and Mr. T are on, Janet!! 🙂 So very exciting to see so many amazing places! Love that we are in Germany at the same time! Looking forward to reading more about your travels! Hugs! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

