RSS Feed

Even BETTER Than Art!


Some things are just more important than art!

Today I got the opportunity to babysit my grandson and granddaughter for the first time in quite awhile. Their mama has been off on maternity leave, so the times they’ve needed help have been few and far between.

Now she is returning to the workforce, but will be able to work from home most of the time – the best of both worlds. Then when she has to in to meet with a client, I’ll be able to back her up.

Today was one of those days.

Daddy had Josh ready for school when I arrived, so all I had to do was comb hair and supervise teeth-brushing, load the baby into the stroller (thank goodness Josh was there to help me – it had a little trick I would NEVER had figured out to get the straps locked!) and walk him a short distance to his classroom.

Lexi was enjoying the ride, so we took a little detour – good for both of us – got her out in the fresh air and me off my behind!

Then it was bottle time – NOT her favorite! She decided she didn’t want it, so we switched to cereal.

lexcereal-w

Then it was off to bed. Seemed like the blink of an eye and she was up again. We played and played. I enjoyed getting to know what she likes and what she doesn’t like, and before we knew it it was time to head off to pick Josh up again.

Back home we tried another bottle. Turns out she likes it better when she gets to hold it by herself! She’s not even 6 months old yet. I was pretty impressed.

lexbottle-w

Da’ came over to visit for a little bit (yeah, I had my boyfriend over while I was babysitting!) and we all played some more.

joshandlex

Going down for second nap was even easier. Guess she realized everything was going to be okay with Gaga doing it.

Then it was Josh and Gawgs time. Well, mostly. He’s been itching to get on his ipad and Daddy said it was okay, so we got that out of the way 1st.

Then it was reading and little Suduko. I don’t know where the time went.

Lexi will be up soon and we’ll play some more, then head out to Josh’s soccer scrimmage. By the time Mommy and Daddy get home we’ll be tired, but it will be a good tired.

Nope, I didn’t get any art done today, but who cares? I got to bond with my darlings, and that was WAAAAAAAY more fun!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. They are mighty lucky to have you!

    Reply
    • I like to think so, but I’m even luckier to have them! Not everyone gets to live so close to their kids and grandkids, and I feel so fortunate to be able to have them around, even when we don’t get to see them as often as we like. Life is complicated these days – weird schedules, lots going on. If they lived far away it would be even harder! Anyway, it is nice to be able to provide safe, loving care for when they can’t be there – one less thing for them to have to worry about.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

