RSS Feed

I’m Happy


One of the things I like about me is that I don’t sit around waiting for “happy” to find me. I go out and look for it. Every. Single. Day. And when I find even a little bit of it, I grab on and embrace it and feel grateful for it.

Gisland3-wSunflowers are such happy flowers. I never see one without smiling!

 

I admit, I’ve been very fortunate. We’ve gone through some rough times and we’ve had a terrible thing or two come our way. But many, many people have it a lot worse.

I’ve never in my life had to wonder where my next meal was coming from, or had to chose between medicine and food for my children, or paying the rent or the electric bill. I’ve never been COMPLETELY alone. I’ve never been dependent on drugs. I’ve never had to watch a child self-destruct to the point of losing their life. I’ve never had to fend for myself. I’ve always had a roof over my head, enough to eat, and someone to love and have them love me back.

So, I can see that I don’t have a reason to NOT be happy.

That’s not to say I don’t get depressed from time to time, but it is mostly short-lived. Even on my worst days, I can usually find a reason to smile. I refuse to let life and all the crap it can throw at you get the better of me.

But a lot of people who are in the same situation I am, are not happy. They can’t see how fortunate they are. They want more, and more, and more, and are incapable of enjoying what they have. They have an attitude of “I’ll be happy when…”

For those people, “happy” will never come, because “happy” is not dependent on what you have, it’s a way of living your life. Not a destination, but a means of travel.

So how do you find “happy?” It is not a passive thing. It’s an active endeavor. You have to go out and look for it. It rarely walks up and smacks you in the face. Sometimes you have to look hard – under bushes and in the shadows to find it. It’s looking for the silver-linings in the storm clouds, learning to dance in the rain. It’s accepting that there is no one or no thing that can make you happy. It has to come from within.

Now, I’m not going to lie. I feel happy when I eat a scoop of ice cream. That’s easy. But I am also happy in the middle of a huge blow up with Mr. Tattered. IF I remember to be grateful that I have have someone I love enough to fight with instead of just walking away from them. I’m happy when I get my feelings hurt and am crying. IF I remember to be grateful that I have someone in my life that CAN hurt my feelings because I care enough about them to care what they think of me. I’m even happy when I am the most depressed. IF I remember to be grateful that I’m only going to feel like that for a short time, and then I’m going to pull myself up by bootstraps and come up with a plan to correct whatever it is that’s dragging me down.

I have learned that happiness follows gratitude.

So I make a point of thinking about what I’m grateful for every day. It’s amazing what a difference it makes.

I hope you are having a life full of happy. If you’re not, don’t waste another minute; get out there and find it. Life is too short to live without it.

 

 

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. I’m so glad you’re happy. I can only WISH to lead the kind of life you have. Like you, I’ve never had to worry about a roof over my head, or my next meal, but I have had to worry about other things, like the nose dive my income took when I started my consulting firm. Now I have learned to live on much, much, MUCH less, and do without. And I’m probably as happy, if not happier than I was when I was making decent money.

    I used to take at least two trips a year, but haven’t taken a trip in over seven years. Do I miss it? A bit. But, because of the internet, I can live vicariously through your trips. So, when you’re happy, it makes me feel happy, too. Of course, I’m a pretty happy person, anyway (grin).

    Reply
    • I definitely get a happy vibe from you – and gratitude! I’m glad my experiences give you a bit of joy…Following all your artsy adventures makes me happy, too! I’m glad we met!

      Reply
  2. I am not by nature happy – I struggle with depression and I have had to learn to change the way I think, I do that through keeping a gratitude diary – it changed my life in profound ways. I have been hungry, I have had to rob Peter to pay Paul, I have lived paycheck to paycheck almost all my life. BUT from that I have learned to be creative and resourceful. I have a wonderful husband who supports me (even when he doesn’t understand what I am up to) and three amazing grown children who are (mostly) healthy and happy and productive. I have a beautiful house full of lovely things, a big studio all to myself AND I get to be an artist every day – how can that NOT make you happy! I get to teach what I know and share my passion (and get paid for it). I have a great life!! Thanks for starting my day out in a happy way!

    Reply
    • Deb! I am so happy that you have a handle on your depression and that, you, too, have discovered the amazing benefit of gratitude! As Charles Swindoll says, “It’s not what happens to you, but how you react to it!” Sounds like you are good at making lemonade out of lemons, and that’s a GREAT thing! Having you here contributes to MY happy! Thank YOU.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

