RSS Feed

I NEED To Make Something!


No, I’m not going to even show you a photo today.

Okay, I’m loving the photography, and I DO consider it creative and artistic, but it just isn’t quite as rewarding to me as actually taking raw materials and turning them into something.

I’ve spent a fair amount of time the past few days browsing through galleries and artist co-ops, and I am just getting itchy to MAKE something. Almost anything.

My first thought was that I need to get paint on my hands.

But that isn’t the half of it. I’ve seen some beautiful jewelry (well, I’ve actually done more than look at it, I’ve actually purchased some!) and it’s made me want to break out the jewelry supplies and try some new techniques.

But then when I see some of the wood stuff, I finding myself lusting for my old woodworking tools and fantasizing about cutting out shapes and painting them.

Then I saw some pretty glass ornaments with Alaska scenes painted on them, and thought to myself, “Self, you could do your own with all the things you saw and loved…”

Worse yet, even the quilting is calling me!

And then I think of all the photos I’m taking that will be piled on top of thousands of others that desperately need to get put into luscious layouts in the scrapbooks…

There just are not enough hours in the days.

On top of that, when we get back from THIS vacation, we’ll only be home for a few weeks before we hit the road again.

And I’ve got 4 (yes FOUR!) inspiration decks to get done before we leave.

I’m not complaining, really I’m not. I love all the travel and I love recording everything we’re seeing and doing. But I want it all. I really do. I want it all.

Yet I’m realistic enough to know that no matter how badly I WANT it all, it just isn’t going to happen, and I really truly don’t know how to choose.

When we get back from Maui in March of 2015 (our last scheduled trip) we’re staying home for awhile, and I am going to create myself silly. Really, I am.

Do I want to go to Antarctica, you ask? Or the Galapagos Islands? Sure, let’s go!

I’m screwed.

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

