RSS Feed

10 Little Words


Most of you are probably familiar with the concept of  “One Little Word,” the idea that instead of making a list of New Year’s Resolutions, you pick one word to focus on for the year.

I’m in my third year of doing this. Year one was “create,” year two was “happy” and this year, year three is “organize.” All three were/are successful. And rather than throwing out each word at the end of the year, I’ve rolled it into the next year, trying to build on the concept. I’ve found it to be much more useful than the traditional resolutions.

But how about words that guide your life? Have you ever sat down and come up with words that are the foundation for how you want/try to live your life? No? Me neither. In fact the idea never crossed my mind until today until I saw a post by my friend Jenny who highlighted the 10 words that our friend, Dr. Parker, who passed away recently, used as his guides.

The words are memorialized on a stone in the mini-park in downtown Mt. Shasta dedicated to him – Parker Plaza.

parkerstone-w(Photo from mtshastanews.com)

And that got me thinking of the words I could use to help guide my decisions. The important words in my life.

So without thinking about it a whole lot, just quickly jotting them down, I’ll start with:

Gratitude, Kindness, Creativity, Service, Compassion, Reflection, Prayerfulness, Patience, Generosity, and Improvement.

I’ll check in with them regularly, re-evaluate at the beginning of the year, and change them as I see the need. I like the concept.

So, how about you? Do you have words that are important to you? Please feel free to share them in the comments! I’d love to know what you’re thinking.

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I love this idea! 10 words takes the pressure off selecting just one biggie. I would choose kindness, gratitude, and compassion too. I have already decided that I’m not doing OLW next year, so I think I’ll do your version and make a piece of art that is a visual reminder for me throughout the year.

    Reply
    • I thought about doing a single piece of art to help keep me focused, then I thought of a large art journal with a two page layout for each concept for documenting what the words mean to me and how I express them during the year…but then there’s that issue of follow through!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

