RSS Feed

Seeking Zen…


The Urban Dictionary defines “Zen” as a “state of focus that incorporates a total togetherness of body and mind. Zen is a way of being. It also is a state of mind. Zen involves dropping illusion and seeing things without distortion created by your own thoughts.”

What is not to like about that? It is VERY appealing.

I’ve been so out of balance and so un-focused for so long, I don’t remember what it feels like (if I ever knew!)

I ran across this list on my Facebook newsfeed today, and it reminded me how difficult I find the whole process of being zen. It is so un-ME.

zen-wRight off the bat #1 is nearly impossible. I multi-task ALL. THE. TIME. I may be completely incapable of doing only one thing at a time.

#2, #3, and #4 seem equally unlikely to happen in my world.

#5…hmmmm. I’m not sure what that means. Put space between projects? Between stuff? Again, not sure  how it fits in my world.

#6. I like the idea of rituals, but until I began really thinking about it, I didn’t think I had any. But I do. When I get up in the morning, I tend to be a little cranky. So I start my morning with quiet time to linger over a cup of coffee and check in with the world via the computer. At night before bed, I slip out to the hot tub for a little soak to get myself drowsy.

#7. I’m guessing this means doing things a certain way all the time like walking every morning, or going to yoga every day? These are more routines than rituals, I guess, but they seem similar to me. I might could do that most of the time. But my life requires flexibility, so although I can shoot for routine, the chances of doing it EVERY day, are slim and none.

#8. I am a GOOD sitter. But I’m guessing this means sitting quietly and contemplating? That is problematic.

#9. Piece of cake. Finally, one I pretty much nail.

#10. I think I can do that.

#11. I think about what is necessary a lot. However, I have a difficult time determining what exactly IS necessary. There are things I have to do because they HAVE to get done. Those are easily “necessary.” But what about things that nourish me? Are those necessary? I think they are. But nourishing myself can easily consume all my time, so the other things don’t get done. Another problem.

#12. Live simply. Not gunna happen. I can simplify it some, but the idea of my life being simple is laughable.

SO does that mean a Zen-type life is not in the cards for me?

It may well be that it is not. BUT, any little steps I can make in that direction will be helpful.

 

 

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. I started meditating a few weeks ago, Janet. Trying to make a ritual out of it and using guided meditation CD’s. So far, it has helped me focus and lowered my bp. All good things ‘cos sister, we are so much alike!!

    Reply
  2. Sigh. This is hard for me too. 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh, my dear friend. I hate to think we are hopeless, but we may have to face the fact that as much as we WANT to just “be,” it might not be in our cards. But we won’t give up…k?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

