RSS Feed

Getting Healthier? Finally?


Healthy lifestyle.

As much as I mouth the words that I want to have one, actually doing it for any length of time seems to escape me.

Today several things lined up to make me think I’m ready to give it another try.

First, I accepted Mr. Tattered’s invitation to take a short walk this morning, before it got too warm. We did our neighborhood loop which is just under a mile and a half, and my back tolerated it well. It was the first intentional actual exercising I’ve done since we’ve returned home from our vacation.

Then on Facebook a friend posted this: “The healthy life: It’s not just about losing the weight, it’s about losing the lifestyle and mindset that got you there – Dr. Steve Maraboli.”

That gave me the incentive to go to the gym (no not to exercise!) to hit the scales. I was pretty convinced I’d gained at least 10lbs. and had been dreading seeing the actual numbers. It wasn’t as bad as I thought, so that gave me a boost.

When I went grocery shopping, I parked way the heck and gone away from the store (for more exercise!) and once inside, not a single bad thing went in the cart. I even got the ingredients to try making some “cauliflower tortillas” in my quest to find something other than high carb corn or flour tortillas as a base for Mexican dishes, and some spicy cashew cheese to spread on them. Best yet, rather than coming home and letting the ingredients sit in the fridge until they look like penicillin (trust me, I’ve done it many times before!) I actually made them!

I filled the finished tortillas with a small amount of the cashew cheese, tomato, fresh pea sprouts and salsa to make incredibly healthy veggie soft tacos. And guess what? They were good! Not just acceptable, but good! The recipe called for eggs, but next time I’ll try an egg substitute to make them vegan and see what happens. And there are so many other possibilities for fillings – avocados, black beans, spicy veggie salsas. I’m excited!

cauliflowertortills-w

Combine these things with the success I’ve had at deciding that I was going to get the most cluttered room in my house cleaned up and actually doing it (ALMOST, still a few things to finish, but I’m close enough that I’m claiming victory!) and I’m feeling like maybe I can do it this time. At least I’m ready to try again.

So. One day does not a lifestyle make-over make, but it’s a step in the right direction. That’s enough for today. I’ll deal with tomorrow, tomorrow.

Oh, I almost forgot, if you want the recipe for the tortillas, you can find it here

 

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. One good decision at a time helps me too. I’m ready to try again too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

