RSS Feed

Enough?


I’m sorry, but I’m unfamiliar with the concept.

Or at least I was until I spread all the K*R*A*P in my studio (aka “hoard room”) out in the living room and started sorting it all out. After hours of putting things in like piles the word “enough” crossed my mind. Not just once, but multiple times. (But if you ever tell me I said it, I’ll deny it! – oh, guess I’m putting it out there for posterity, huh? No denying it.)

At the time I thought it, I thought I meant it. I was feeling almost ill at the gluttony of it all. Why does one person need so much?

Well, because I’m a mixed media artist, and that’s how we roll, that’s why.

How can you be a mixed media artist without lots of different media to work with?

Yeah, I’ve got different kinds of paints,

paint after-w

chalks, inks, pastels, watercolors, pencils, pens, gelatos. I’ve got dozens of different alphabets in stamps, and a few in metal punches, lots in stickers (a whole drawer full filed by color) and rub-ons, and TONS in chipboard. I have a 3-drawer file cabinet full of stickers for about every situation known to man.

hoard6-w

They are mostly sorted by category – still one box left to sort and file. I have BOXES of scrap paper, sorted by colors for those small projects, and even more in full sheets waiting to be used for scrapbook pages or other paper projects, some patterned, some solid cardstock. They’re mostly sorted by color – just one box left to do…

DSCN0533

Then there’s pounds of washi tape, ribbons and brads (all sorted by colors – okay, ALMOST all)

DSCN2696

DSCN2695

and a whole unit of drawers with beads and jewelry findings sorted by color. I have tons of stencils, stamps, punches, decorative scissors,

maystudio2-w

dies for cutting shapes, and different sizes and weights of mixed media/watercolor paper. Then there’s the glue guns (yeah, different guns for different jobs) binding machines, paper cutters, die cut machines, a sewing machine, and 3 sizes of gelli plates. I’ve found places for nearly everything.

So, what’s the problem, you ask? I know. I sound pretty together, huh?

It’s the stuff that ISN’T sorted. It’s the piles of odds and ends that I can’t seem to part with. That can’t be lumped into groups and filed in any way I could ever find them again if they weren’t out where I could see them. And the incomplete projects. Where do I store all the things I’ve lost interest in for the moment?

Well, I’m making huge progress. My new cabinets are in place,

maystudio1-w

and I can actually SEE the work table!

maystudio4-w

It’s taking longer than I thought, longer than the time I’d budgeted, but I’m going to keep going. I’m determined to get things cleaned up so I’ll have a clean, organized space to work.

And as for the concept of enough? Nah, there will still be room for more!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. Wonderful progress! It feels so nice looking at the photos.

    Reply
  2. You’ve done so much! Craft rooms are hard to organize, you’re right. There is always so much stuff, but it looks like you have the majority organized and easily accessible. Good luck with the last bits.

    Reply
  3. This might seem like cheating to you but I have some boxes of miscellaneous scraps of paper that don’t fit else where – ditto with rusty bits of stuff I pick up in parking lots, “nature” stuff – I sit and look through them every now and then to remind myself of all the wonderful stuff that is in there – it works for me. You look super organized, don’t be so hard on yourself – LOL!

    Reply
    • Ha! I don’t consider ANYTHING cheating! We all gotta do what we gotta do to keep our spaces functional! I’m guessing you didn’t see my before pics if you think I look organized (well, actually I AM pretty organized now after a week plus of slaving away!) so don’t go back and look! Then at least one person will think I am! Heeheehee!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

