RSS Feed

Eat, Love, Pray and Use an Old-fashioned Timer!

Posted on

I was preparing to write a post about an article I read on facebook about spending 30 minutes a day working on your art, your craft…whatever it is.

I had “shared” the article with my art friends, and the more I thought about the article, the more applications it seemed to have in my life.

Let me back up a little.

The article featured a photo of an old-fashioned kitchen time. You know, the white wind-up thing our moms all had in their kitchens back before we had timers on our ovens and/or phones. The author related that she was raised doing things in 30 minute increments to the tick, tick, tick of her mother’s timer. Practicing the piano, studying French verbs, writing Christmas thank you notes. She used that background to write her books when she didn’t think she had time, and in the article was encouraging the readers to use the 30 minute timer every single day to do their art, be it writing, painting, whatever. Just focus on your art for 30 minutes a day.

Real quickly I determined that the idea had a good chance of working for me in all kinds of endeavors – art, working in the garden, cleaning house…just set the timer for 30 minutes and focus on one project until the timer goes off, then move on to the next.

I already had a timer on my phone, and on the oven, but I liked the old-fashioned timer. I don’t know why. I just did. So off I went to Bed, Bath and Beyond, and came back ready to go.

timer-w

And I love it. Left to my own devices, I flitter from one thing to the next, sometimes forgetting what I even started on. With the timer, I’m just doing one thing, and not stopping until it dings.

When I decided I wanted to write about it, I didn’t have a lot to go on. I wanted to give credit to the author, but the article was signed “LG” and mentioned no name. So I plugged the title in to google, and ta-da! A blog by Elizabeth Gilbert. Rang no bells. Then I saw the book on the sidebar, “The Signature of All things, A Novel.” Still no bells going off. Then, “by the author of Eat, Pray Love.” Ding, ding, ding! I didn’t read the book, but saw the movie, and to be kind, I didn’t like it.

Now I need to go back and read “Eat, Pray Love” AND the newer “Signature of All Things.” Anyone who can come up with an idea that is working so well for me, HAS to have something more of value to say. And I have to laugh about how well the internet works. I’m actually blown away.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

10 responses »

  1. I have a timer on my computer that I use to get through onerous tasks like accounting and marking papers, I am often amazed by how much I can get done (it also ticks!). I have read eat, pray love, and I liked parts of it, but not all. Good luck with the timer!!

    Reply
  2. Oh, her latest book is amazing. I may even read it again! Love the idea of the timer too. I’m a flutterer too.

    Reply
  3. I love this idea! I always write in my calendar 30minutes a day, but without a timer am I really sticking to it. Today I will use my timer! Thank you for the great post.

    Reply
  4. I actually time limit myself when I am on the computer so time doesn’t just get away from me. I should try the timer for focus as I tend to flit from one thing to another. Thank you for sharing this. Creative Bliss…

    Reply
  5. I love it, and have added timer to my shopping list for tomorrow! I need all the help I can get.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

