RSS Feed

Uh-Oh…I Did It Again!

Posted on

I had every intention of NOT planting a garden this year.

The lake level is still low (although it’s come up a lot) and I figured we’d be under huge water restrictions by now. But we’re not. And the area I was considering planting has bushes in it, so we have the drip running, but instead of the water going to flowers, it’s just going into the dirt. That doesn’t make any sense does it? So it really does make a certain kind of crazy sense to go ahead and plant the flowers.

But I wasn’t really following this rational train of thought when I bought the plants.

I actually went to the nursery to get a pony pack of Lobelia to put in the front yard planner. That’s all.

lobelia14-w

But then all of a sudden, my cart looked like this.

flowerpurchase-w

I have a weakness for flowers. If you’ve been around here for any length of time, you know that.

So, I go to the nursery to get Lobelia. I found it right away, and I started to turn around and head out, really I did. But then I found a variety of digitalis (foxglove) I’d never seen before. So It HAD to go home with me. And right next to it was a whole row of different colors of calibrochoa (million bells) and I succumbed to several. So as long as I was planting anyway, it seemed reasonable to fill in the sketchy scotch moss and allisum, and if I was going to fill in the planter, I needed some height, so I threw in some snapdragons, then a few colors of marigolds for the middle, some cosmos for interest, and a couple of zinnias. There was a beautiful delphinium that would be perfect for an empty clay pot, a bright red geranium for the other one, and a red verbena to take the place of the dead purple one from last year. Next thing I know, I’m planting a garden. And I’m pretty sure I didn’t buy enough flowers, so I’ll be back.

Heeheehee! I didn’t go in with the intention of buying a garden full of flowers, but I didn’t put up much of a fight. I never do.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Flowers are such a beautiful way to enjoy Nature and all of her glory. Flowers make me smile and feel happy. Creative Planting Bliss…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

