RSS Feed

Good Bye, NLWM!

Posted on

Well, April is a memory, and along with it this year’s National Letter Writing Month.

This was my second year participating.

Last year I disappointed myself. I DID correspond with my pen pal, but I only sent extra mail to about half the other participants. I had so hoped to do more, but life got in the way.

I promised myself I’d do better this year, and I did, even though it turned out a little differently than I had originally planned. Yep. Life got in the way again.

We decided to go on a cruise. So, I had a choice. I could either back out of my commitment, or find a way to do both. And I did. Realizing there was no way I could do an original piece of art for everyone, I opted to buy a postcard in Hawaii for every participant (130) plus I took my art supplies with me on the cruise to make cards for some of the participants, as well as my own pen pal. Woohoo! Somehow, even with all the distractions of a 28 day cruise, I actually followed through. Yay me!

But the best part was getting home and finding a month’s worth of happy mail waiting for me!

mailNLWM-w

Oh, my goodness! 77 pieces of happy mail waiting to be enjoyed!

Tonight Hannah, Bea and I opened all 77 and had so much fun admiring all the wonderfulness!

While we were on the ship, I made 24 thank you cards, thinking I’d probably have some left over. Heeheehee! Now I’ve got more to make, plus it will take a little time to get them all filled out! So, my April will be bleeding into May. I kinda like that it doesn’t have to be completely over!

Another amazing side effect of the month? I’ve discovered I LOVE making cards and surprising people with real live snail mail! I’m going to be doing a lot more of it!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Hugs to you…a Super Awesome Pen Pal!!! Loved all my postcards and letters!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Lilli! I’ve really enjoyed getting to know you. And now I have a new friend! Are you going to shift to RAOM? I haven’t been active there, but I’m going to do better!

      Reply
  2. How fun that you cruised and created mail art. NLWM this year was amazing and I will still be working it in May. My job is not done! Welcome home and Creative Bliss…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

