RSS Feed

Remember DLP?


s in, Documented Life Project?

I can’t remember the last time I was so excited about a project and did so little with it!

Seriously. We are now 15 weeks in. 15 prompts, and I haven’t done a single solitary one. Not one.

I have washi tape on the edges of the extra pages before the actual planner pages (still don’t know exactly what I’m going to do on those.) And a few decorations on a couple of those pages. But to be completely candid – I did all that way back in January at Lindsay’s planner party.

Since then, my only progress has been adding the bases for the 1st two tip ins with washi tape. {{{hangs her head in shame!}}}

I suspect my problem is that I am massively intimidated by all the fabulous photos of the completed pages people are posting on the Facebook page set up for the group. Man there are some talented people out there!

Additionally, I’ve been having a terrible time deciding on a “theme,” as if it is necessary to have one. You’d think I was required to have a blueprint to follow before getting started. One day I’m marveling at all the bright, wonderful colors (even though they are SOOO not me.) The next day I see vintage pages and it seems more like something I’d do, but then I’m intrigued with kraft, black and white. But I constantly revert back to thinking I should just stick with my go-to browns, beiges and reds.

I don’t know why I’m making such a big deal about it. There is no rule that I HAVE to post photos if I’m not happy with what I’m doing. And, truth be told, when was last time I EVER did something that I ended up just hating?

So, I picked myself up by my bootstraps today and got to work.

I started by FINALLY making the decision to go with kraft, black and white on the monthly calendar I’ll be adding, penciled out each of the 12 months (no, I’m not just photocopying, but actually drawing out each month!) and started doing the white ink.

DLP calendar-m-m

I got to May and ran out of ink in my Signo uni-ball pen (wouldn’t you know it?) with no way to get a new one right now. BUT, I’m not going to let that stop me. I’m kinda on a roll, so I’m going to keep going. Next up, I’m going to figure out how to add color to these incredibly thin planner pages and work on getting caught up.

Hey! Don’t be laughing at me… I haven’t given up yet! That’s good, isn’t it?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Good for you, Janet! I’m often stifled by indecision as well. I’m always looking for a white pen that actually works for more than two minutes. Will yours write over paint or gel medium? I need to buy one of those. Good luck with your project. Don’t beat yourself up over the delay, you have a new grandbaby to smooch, after all…

    Reply
    • Signo rollerball…works great on paint, but I haven’t tried it on either gel medium or modpodge. I’d love to blame it on the baby, but she didn’t come until March. This is all on me I’m afraid!

      Reply
  2. oh my goodness, I love the white ink on the craft paper! keep going dear, you’ll be so glad you did! just glue some stuff in there…at this point, you may not even want to try to catch up with all the prompts. No idea if I’ll keep following them either, but my husband did seem like he thought I was crazy the way I obsessed about getting my planner made up. I created my own pages too, punching holes in pages made from scraps and using book rings. too Cheap to buy the moleskin book and kinda glad I didn’t ’cause of people discussing the thin pages. Yay for you…look forward to seeing your progress!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

