RSS Feed

New Project


I’ve been having time to paint (yay!) and it’s all I want to do at the moment.

I just finished 24 thank you cards for National Letter Writing month. I’ll be using them to send all my writing pals who have sent notes to me.

I started with what I thought was a set of “tone on tone” cards as my base because I wasn’t in a place where I could get completely blank cards. Turns out the pattern was embossed. I almost quit before I started, but decided to go ahead and try. The worst thing that would happen is I wouldn’t like them and could cut new cards from blank paper and use the envelopes.

Once again I am using the gelli plate for the backgrounds. I am technically capable of creating backgrounds without it, but I’m a little rigid – I have a tendency to do the same thing over and over. With the gelli plate, I’m never quite sure what I’m going to get until I pull the paper off. Then with a swirl of colors down, I can add what’s lacking with either stencils and another layer from the gelli plate or stamping. The embossing added an interesting element. Some turned out better than others, but I didn’t HATE any of them.

thankyou3-w

Next up – the doodling. I’m pretty new at this, and it doesn’t come naturally to me. I’m finding I’m doing the same circles over and over. I’m trying to branch out, but I’m not improving as quickly as I’d like. Intellectually I know it takes a lot of practice, but I’m just not all that patient. I want to be good NOW.

TY-w

 

I did all 24 thank you notes, all different. I’m not going to bore you with pictures of all of them, so here’s a sampling.

My LEAST favorite:

thankyou4-w

 

Middle of the road:

thankyou2-w

And, my favorite of the day:

thankyou-w

 

This was the last one I did, and I wish I had thought of doing “thank you” in this way sooner. I would have used variations of it more often.

Okay. So what now? I just can’t quit!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Love it! The colors the doodling everything .

    Reply
  2. Susan Gallitto

    These gelli prints are awesome! You inspired me to get mine out tonight:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

