RSS Feed

New Lens!


I missed having coffee with you this morning! We are visiting with family and the time got away from me. Hope you’re having a lovely day!

Back a year or so ago I decided I needed a new, closer up lens for photographing birds and animals from a distance. My 55/200 lens just wasn’t allowing me to get pictures I was happy with.

So my sweet Mr. Tattered got me a big ol’ mongo 300 lens. I was ecstatic! But, come to find out, it was a fixed lens, not a zoom, and until I finally tried it out months later I didn’t realize what that meant. It was sooo very frustrating to have move myself to get a clear picture rather than just adjusting the focus. After a few unhappy experiences, I quit trying, and until now haven’t even looked at different lens.

I was wandering about Best Buy while Mr. Tattered helped his brother-in-law with a sound bar, and I remembered that I was interested in a new lens, so I sauntered over to the camera department and they had a 55/300 lens on display. It was a little more than I wanted to spend, but not ridiculous, so I decided to go for it. The helper guy asked me what kind of camera I had, and I confidently said a Nikon. He asked the model and again confidently answered a Rebel. And he said well we have a problem…a Rebel is a Canon. Hmmmmmm. All my confidence went out the window and I had to track down the man. Fortunately he remembered – it was a Canon.

I had him slip the lens onto a base so I could check it out, and I think I am going to be very happy with it.

 

I was saved from myself. AND the Canon lens was $200 less than the Nikon! Yay!

300lens-w

So, I am now the proud owner of a 70/300 lens and can hardly wait to come upon some poor, unsuspecting critter whose privacy I can invade (hopefully without him knowing about it!)

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

One response »

  1. You are hilarious! Congrats! Will you take this on your cruise?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

