RSS Feed

The Slow Trek Into A Healthier Lifestyle


The path to a healthier lifestyle has been a rocky one for me, full of fits and starts. I do well for awhile, then I backslide, then I get back to it again.

It’s not that I don’t know how to be healthy – I think I could write the book. I just don’t do it with any degree of regularity.

I think being introduced to yoga is helping. The integration of mind and body is very compelling to me. But isn’t a magic bullet. Every time I leave the yoga studio having worked hard and sweated like crazy, the desire to be kind to my body is rekindled. Unfortunately it doesn’t last long enough. So far, going every day just isn’t an option – I am too sore the day after and need a recovery day or two. I suppose that might mean I need to tone it down a bit, and not work quite so hard, but I really get into it, and WANT to do well.

My biggest health issue is that I am a nighttime eater. I am just not very hungry during the day, and eat very little. Then I make up for it at night, and sleep on a full stomach. I am open to the possibility that it may be a contributing factor in not being able to take off the pounds I need to shed.

So after my yoga class it struck me that my resolve to do better is really high right after leaving class, so what if I were to try nighttime classes instead? Then, even if I was only doing 4 classes a week, that might possibly be 4 nights of not eating late.

So, tonight was my first night class. The jury is still out on whether or not the exercise so late will keep me up, and I’m feeling the urge to nibble, but I suspect it will be just a little not a whole meal.

And I’m feeling like I’m in love. You know, that feeling you have when you say goodnight to your new love and can’t wait to see them again? I wish I was strong enough to do it every day. I know the time will come, but I’m not there yet. So I’ll have to wait a couple of days to see my new love again. I can hardly wait.

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Wow! You’re inspiring me. I haven’t been in a regular exercise program for a while now, and it’s starting to show. Go Janet!!

    Reply
    • It’s funny, I never thought of yoga as being exercise, but it way is. I despised it after the 1st class, just hated it the second, then after the 3rd I was hooked. There are different kinds of yoga, so it might be a search to find a style you like, but I highly recommend it. I much prefer “warm” yoga where the room temp is 80-90 degrees so you sweat like crazy. Not everyone does.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

