RSS Feed

The Need For Speed


If you’ve been around the last week, you know I’ve been immersed in getting Lexi’s birth announcements done, and not progressing as quickly as I’d hoped I would.

So the need for speed got me looking for more ways to streamline my process. There is a lot of intricate gluing involved, and I recalled my artsy girls talking about a zyron machine which makes stickers. So, when I ran out of glue and needed to make a Michael’s run, I decided to check it out (armed with a 40% off coupon, of course.) And I came home with a new toy.

xyron-w

The learning curve was a little sharper than I thought it would be. The directions are not very helpful and it required a bit of frustrating trial and error. But, eventually I got it. It’s not an inexpensive proposition, so I doubt I’ll be using it a lot, but right now I need to pick up the pace and I don’t see a better way to do it. At this point, I have more money than time!

One downside is that there appears to be a considerable amount of waste. I ran through a whole cartridge without even completing all the giraffes. But, some of that was from inexperience. As I use it more, I think I’ll learn little tricks to make the adhesive material go further.

xyrongiraffe-w

Luckily, I have a couple more 40% off coupons, so I’ll be heading back to Michael’s for refill cartridges .

The good news is, getting the adhesive on the back of the components really did speed up the process.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

