RSS Feed

I Still Love to Cut and Paste!


When I was in kindergarten my favorite part of the day was cutting and pasting, and some things never change. They are still two of my favorite activities, and the more mindless it is, the better!

I’m in the middle of making birth announcements for Miss Lexie (who arrived yesterday!) and they are cut and paste intensive. Yay!

So far I have traced and cut out 85 giraffes (with a little help from my daughter,) punched out 340 flowers, used my personal trimmer to cut 170 squares and 170 rectangles, cut the “fringe” for the 85 giraffe manes, and drawn the stitching on the 340 square/rectangular elements, including “She’s Here” 85 times in pencil, and 85 times in stitching with a marker. Whew!

birthelements-w

Still left to do – cutting 85 cards, scoring and folding them, stringing embroidery floss onto 170 buttons, gluing all the individual elements onto the cards, printing all her stats for the inside of the card and cutting them out, and mounting them and her picture on the inside of the card. With a little luck I’ll have them done and ready to turn them over to her mama for mailing by the end of the week.

I know some people think I’m whacked to take on a project like this, but I just LOVE it!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Oh they are going to be so cute!!!

    Reply
  2. Actually, I don’t think you’re whacked at all. I think this was labor of love.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

