RSS Feed

I’m Hopeless. Almost.


I’m never going to be one of those people who gives up t.v. For a lot of reasons. But mostly because I love it. I love the escapism. I love the noise; the company.

BUT. I’m having a problem with it. It’s not so much that it eats up too much of my time (which it does.) Or that I’m filling my brain with crap (which I also am.) It’s more that I’m getting too invested. I care too much about what is going on with these fictional characters. Particularly with the daily soaps. Hi. My name is Janet and I’m a Days of Our Lives and General Hospital addict.

It really does need to stop. Abigail is probably going to be pregnant, and it is going to destroy Sammie. Darn that E. J. Which I guess doesn’t matter because she’s leaving the end of the year, anyway. Which just sucks. I’ve known her since she was born, and now she’s grandma. A young one (as they all are on the soaps) but a grandma none the less. She’s been a part of my life for a very long time. And now she’s going to be gone. And Robin. For crying out loud. I don’t know why they even bring her back, since she just leaves over and over, taking a little piece of my heart with her each time. And Jason, and Laura. Good grief. It goes on and on, and I just can’t take it any more. I have to separate myself from it.

I think I’m still okay with the nighttime soaps. They are only once a week, so I’m not quite as immersed. But this 5 day a week stuff? It’s just too much.

So I did it. I eliminated the record set up for the series. Both of them. I will no longer be following the goings-on in Salem or Port Charles. Or at least I’m going to try. I may cave. But if I’m able to stick with it, I’ll gain 7 1/2 hours a week in my life. I can use them.

Then there’s the nighttime stuff…Revenge, Scandal, Blacklist. All twisty, warped and deliciously messed up. I won’t be giving them up. Ever.

I know. I’m hopeless. Almost.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. congrats Janet for taking the first step. Good luck with your resistance, I’m rooting for you. I agree the weekly shows are harder to kick, but then few of them have the staying power of daily shows so we don’t usually have an option to become totally addicted.

    Reply
    • Well, Alice, I’d love to say I’m not totally addicted to them, but I’m afraid I am. It’s just not as bad since there is a week between. The good news is, I rarely just sit and watch a show, I’m generally multi-tasking. But still. I do wish I preferred listening to classical music. Heeheehee.

      Reply
  2. I have never watched a SOAP in my life. Laugh or cry, I’m just not built that way. If I watch tv in the daytime, it’s because of something I’ve recorded earlier, like the night or two before. In fact, we didn’t even have a tv when I was growing up. My grandparents (who raised me) didn’t buy one until the very exact day I graduated from high school. So all those references to 80s shows went over my head. But I love weird shows, like The Blacklist, and I really liked Revenge in the beginning, but now I’m not as thrilled about it. I read somewhere that it was on the chopping block, anyway, so getting too invested in shows with no staying power just leads to frustration.

    Reply
    • It’s probably just as well that you haven’t, Elizabeth. It is pretty much a waste of time. My only salvation was that I was doing something else at the same time, BUT, I just don’t need the clutter in my mind. The first day without them was a little tough, but I did it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

