RSS Feed

Just What I Needed – New Toys!


I’ve been hearing about gelatos for awhile now. No, not the ice cream concoction, the smooth and creamy pigment color that comes in a tube like chapstick. It can be thinned with water or used right from the tube and spread with your fingers or a sponge.

My friend Sylvia, who is in my local real world art group, was playing with hers at our last get-together, and being the sucker for new art supplies that I am, I knew I’d be needing to get some. Then, lo and behold, with a 50% off coupon from Michael’s burning a hole in my pocket, I found a beginner’s kit and indulged. Indulging is so much more pleasant when a 50% off coupon is involved, doncha think?

images

There aren’t enough colors in my new little kit. In fact, only one from my favorite palette. I spent some time roaming around the internet to see what colors are available, and where I might find them, but looks like finding them isn’t all that easy. And here I was set to hit the bricks tomorrow in search of them.

gelatos-w

I had a plan for what I was going to do, but since the colors aren’t right, I’m not sure now. But that what playing with new toys is all about, huh? Figuring it out?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

8 responses »

  1. Now where did you get a 50% off coupon? I only see 40% ones where I shop. I’ve heard of the gelatos, but have never seen them. Lucky you. I suspect, however, even with that huge cents off coupon, they would still be beyond my craft budget. In fact, I spent my entire budget for the year when I let Bleubeard buy that gelli plate I’ve still never removed from the box.

    Reply
  2. Oh yes, the Gelatos are FUN!! I have also had a hard time finding additional colors, and so far have not found a place to buy single gelatos. However, Joann’s has some sets…3 or 4 in a package, and with a coupon…not too bad. Let me know if you find any singles!

    Reply
    • Yay! I found the little sets at JoAnn’s and was able to get the 2 colors I wanted most! They were on sale ($7.99 for 4 – not a great price, but I didn’t want to wait ’til they weren’t on sale any more so I could use coupons!)

      Reply
  3. This is my first time hearing about this gelato. I’m anxious to see what you’ll create. Keep us updated.

    Reply
  4. Yum! I love gelatos and their smoothness. Even using a paintbrush directly onto them to get a bit of color helps. Add water too for more fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

