RSS Feed

Rain, Rain DON’T Go Away!


Well, I have been spending time the past few months getting my mind wrapped around the idea that I probably wouldn’t be able to plant a garden this year.

California is in the middle of a terrible drought. The lake that our area relies on for all of our household water is at historically low levels. Contingency plans are being made for pumping ground water up into the lake, and surrounding areas who normally get some of their water from the lake are voluntarily pumping their own ground water to keep the lake from getting any lower.

The meteorologists were predicting a month ago that there would be no rain for 3 months, and then we’d be into our dry season.

Then all of a sudden we find ourselves in the middle of storm after storm after storm. I’m not complaining. We need the rain desperately, and I’m so glad to see it! The lake has risen over a foot in the last two days, which translates into about 2.4 billion gallons of water. The mountains got about 20″ of snow in just this last storm. Even the gullys behind our house where the run-off comes off the hills are full of water!  It’s all wonderful news!

The whole next week looks like we may get rain off and on!

It may not enough to make up for the lack of rain the whole first part of our rainy season, but it takes the edge off a bit! And it may keep us from having to live under draconian water restrictions over the summer.

And that means I may be able to have a garden this year after all. I’m feeling really good about that!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. So glad to read about this good news. We just had a program on Xeriscaping on TV since we have to begin conserving water before summer. Good luck with your new garden. I hope you add lots of mulch. May I suggest shredded paper?

    Reply
    • My husband is ready to yank the front lawn out and put in drought resistant plants. It is the socially responsible thing to do, but after 25 years of a “natural” front yard when we lived in the mountains, I’ve been enjoying a real lawn, so I’m not feeling socially responsible at the moment. I know we need to do it, so I suppose I’ll get over it! Thanks for the suggestion.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

