RSS Feed

Seriously, I’m Talking About Pie?


Well, by now you may have figured out that I’ve been away from home. I mean seriously, when you blog every day of your life, then suddenly you don’t, isn’t it obvious? But Mr. Tattered worries about mentioning on-line that we’re gone, so I respect his desire that I not. Except that really I do, just by NOT blogging. Oh, well.

Anyway, I’m back. And I’m like someone who has been in solitary confinement – I could do three blogs a day. But I won’t, I promise. I’ll just catch up a little at a time.

We went on a 15 day cruise through the Panama Canal. It wasn’t on MY bucket list, but it was on Mr. Tattered’s and you know what they say, “happy husband, happy life.” Oh wait, that doesn’t rhyme. Heeheehee! As it turns out, it was a wonderful trip, and I’m glad we went.

bandj-w

There wasn’t a single stop I was looking forward to, but they were all a lot of fun. Aruba, Cartegena, Columbia, Panama City, Panama, Puntarenas, Costa Rica, and Puerta Chiapes, Mexico. All nice surprises. And there were DAYS at sea. One of my favorite places to be.

And food. OMG. Food. I was seriously scared to see how much weight I would gain, but I was careful when I could be, and managed to only gain 1.6 lbs. I happy danced all the way from the scale in the gym to the car! Woohoo! One of my favorite story is about peanut butter pie. Seriously, pie!

On the second night of the cruise, I had a piece of peanut butter pie for dessert. It was heavenly. Night 3 it wasn’t on the menu, so I asked our waiter if he thought there might still a piece hanging around from the night before. (Hey, if you don’t ask, the answer is ALWAYS no. If you do, there’s a chance it will be yes!) He checked, and there wasn’t, but he mentioned my request to the head waiter (Catalin from Romania.) He came over and asked if there was nothing else on the menu that sounded good, and I said, yes, there was, but it had been SO good, I was just hoping for another piece. (It’s been suggested there was some eyelash batting going on – I can’t SWEAR there wasn’t.) So he said, well, let me see what I can do. That  night I had a GREAT creme brulee, but after that, I had peanut butter pie EVERY SINGLE NIGHT for the rest of the trip, even though it was never on the menu again (and they NEVER save the food from night to night, so the poor pastry chef was making a pie every day, just for me!) One night they even sent an extra piece up with room service! It got to be a running joke at the table every night – my MAN looking out for me! I’ll be hearing about the flirtation with my “Romanian friend” for a long time, but when it comes to peanut butter pie, a girl has to do what a girl has to do!

pbpie-w

I’m not going to bore you with tons of photos, but over the next few days, I’ll show you a few here and there. We had some fun adventures, and most of them require at least ONE photo!

I missed you guys!!!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I missed you! What a fantastic experience though… so glad you could take it as it came and enjoy it and your time with Mr. T. I would have swooned for the PB pie too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

