RSS Feed

Pre-Fun, Fun


Well, CHA doesn’t start until tomorrow, but I’m having fun already! Let’s call it the pre-fun fun.

I’m pretty good at goin’ with the flow, so when my initial afternoon plans fell through, I went to plan B, connected with a local friend on facebook to get a recommendation for a scrapbook store and headed off in search of some trouble to get into!

It’s been so long since I was in a full service scrapbook store I just wandered and soaked up the ambiance and tried to remember all the projects I had on the back burner that I needed a little this and that for. I was really pretty reserved. I didn’t want to buy stuff just for the sake of spending money, so I was pretty discriminating, but I did manage to find a few little treasures that needed to come home with me.

After checking out, I asked if there was an art store nearby that specialized in mixed media. They couldn’t think of one, but told me about a stamping store that had some mixed media, and it just happened to be right on the way to my ultimate destination, so off I went.

CUTE stuff! Still I was pretty reserved.

preCHA-w

I ended up with mostly stuff for playing in my art journals, and with my gelli plate.

The thing about CHA is, even though there should be tons of stuff I’ll be salivating over, you can’t buy it. It is a wholesale show, for ordering only. Some of it won’t even be available for months. So why am I going, you ask? Because the energy and creative inspiration is incredible.

Intellectually I know that I already have more ideas than I’ll EVER be able to complete, but that’s not the point. When you are a creative you NEED, NEED, NEED creative stimulation like you need air to breath. And my supply has been dwindling. All the Stampington magazines, and hours spent perusing pinterest cannot compare with being in a room filled with artists peddling (and demonstrating) their toys (and even letting you play with a few of them!) They just can’t.

I wonder if I’ll even sleep tonight? I have a feeling I will not be able to shut down the brain. I brought Nyquil just in case. Who am I kidding? Without Nyquil, I’ll be awake for 3 nights! Seriously.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

5 responses »

  1. Sorry I made you go shopping…;)

    Reply
  2. Take lots of pics. I think my head would explode amidst all that crafty goodness!

    Reply
  3. I hope you are able to get some sleep. You have me salivating over the wonderful things you bought. I totally agree that there is nothing greater than being around other creative people. You feed off them. I’ve always wanted to go to CHA, but I know I never will, so I’ll live vicariously through your photos.

    BTW, I picked the wrong day to link to your blog with ideas about organizing! I’m posting organizing tips this afternoon (my time).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

