RSS Feed

Hitting The Floor Running


I said I was trying to hit the floor running today, and I did.

I Love New Year’s Day. It feels like a clean chalkboard. This had to be one of my most productive New Year’s Days, ever.

My plan was to think of all the things that I wanted in place for the new year. The things that would make me feel…well, normal. And organized.

Goofy things came to mind – things like clean sheets on the bed, laundry caught up (3 loads washed, dried, folded AND put away!) a shower and washed hair, clean mirrors in the bathrooms. I wanted to do a mani/pedi, but my favorite place was closed, so that’ll be first thing tomorrow. I even went in and made some progress in the scary room – got all my silk/paper flowers consolidated. So well in fact that I freed up a whole shelf for storing my glitter and glitter glue.

I tossed all the remnants of Christmas paper from this year, put away the ribbon, boxes and tissues.

And I started getting together the things I’ll need to work on my planner/journal during my play date Saturday.

I told you I have a play date, didn’t I? One of my real world arty friends invited a bunch of people to her house to work on our journals together. She is an amazing, published artist, and I’m a bit intimidated to be creating in her presence, but I’m going to do it. And I’m going to try REALLY hard to not compare. These journals are not a competition (I’m telling myself over and over.) Anyway, I have a to-go case for my scrapbooking, but this is going to require different supplies, so I started putting together another one. It’s kinda hard, because I’m really unsure about what I’m going to do. So, a little of this and little of that.

Four of my classes started today – One Little Word, Lifebook 2014, A Documented Life Project, and Focus on Life. Yowza. It’s a bunch to co-ordinate all at once, but sometimes it takes being REALLY busy to stay on top of things (she tells herself confidently!)

Normally I get Christmas put away New Year’s Day, but I’m not quite ready to part with it yet. The house looks so pretty. Maybe just a few more days…

I just love my clean, new chalkboard, and I’m so excited to see what I’m going to draw on it!

Hope you’re off to a good start, as well.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Golly, I feel downright lazy after reading everything you did today. I did my laundry (sheets, towels, etc.) after my friends went home after Christmas, and I got the boxes out to put my Christmas things away, but instead of putting everything away, I watched a couple of shows that took most of the day. I’m a HUGE fan of the Rose Parade, having gone to two of them in the past. So, of course, I couldn’t miss watching it on TV. Then I watched a marathon of shows I had seen before, but love no matter how many times I see them. I stayed away from football games, at least! You, on the other hand, managed to do far more than I would have done today.

    Also, it snowed here, so in the morning, I’ll have to shovel the sidewalk right after morning coffee and before the mail person visits. Guess everyone gets ONE day to be a slug, at least I hope it’s not indicative of how my year goes. Looks like yours is definitely off to a good start. And I’m impressed that you started working on your room. Good for you.

    Boy, I’m rambling. It’s very late, so I should probably put my brain to bed (grin). Happy New Year again.

    Reply
    • I slept like a log and woke up late this morning…don’t think there will be a repeat today (oh, no!) But, I am going to head out for that mani/pedi in a bit! Good luck with your shoveling. After 25 years in the snow, we’re glad to be flatlanders again where we get to watch the precipitation run down the driveway. That is if it ever rains again. We’re in drought conditions right now, and I have to admit, even snow sounds good!

      Reply
  2. I wouldn’t worry about what to take to your play date I am sure everyone will share, and I always find I get more creative if I limit my options anyway!!
    You certainly got a running start at being organised! I did some laundry (not put away) and then worked in the studio for a bit. Nothing as energetic as you!!

    Reply
    • It’s supposed to be a really nice group of ladies, so I think sharing will be happening. I’m just so dang shy in these settings! Anyway, I haven’t even STARTED setting up the journal yet, so I may spend most of my time doing the fundamentals. Should be fun!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

