RSS Feed

One Little Word 2014


What is one little word, you ask?

I’ve had a hard time finding the absolute creator of the concept, but Ali Edwards seems to be the person who popularized it. I’m actually going to be taking her “support” class for the first time this year.

You know how absurd New Year’s Resolutions are. Rarely does anyone make it through January before they completely give up.

Well, think how much easier it would be to concentrate on “one little word” for the whole year.

The trick is to pick a word that encompasses the spirit of what you want to accomplish during the year.

An interesting part of this is that my words seem to find me. As I get down to the last quarter of the year, and begin thinking ahead, I find that one word starts popping up repeatedly from different sources. If it matches up with what my heart is telling me, that’s my word!

In 2011, my 1st year of choosing a word, I picked Create, and it was one of the most creative years of my life. In 2012, I wanted to build on my 1st year’s word, and went with Happy. The intention was to focus on finding the happy in my world, and use my creativity to enhance it. Turns out, I’m a pretty happy person!

This 3rd year has been a little more challenging. I was initially going with inspire. I wanted to use my creativity and happiness to inspire others, as well as to draw inspiration from others. But, the last month of the year I had several things occur that made me realize I was not yet ready to be an inspiration. I needed something a bit more fundamental. It seemed like organization was a big problem for me, both in my mind, and my physical world. Once I started mulling it over, I began getting validation it would work for me!

organize

organize2-w

Then the doubt settled in. Yes, I need to get organized. But I also need to lose weight, take better care of myself, start following through on projects – so many different things. I need a make-over, a total remodel – even an overhaul. I almost changed my word. BUT, the fundamental remained the same. Much of what ails me can be traced back to a lack of organization.

So, I’m going with it. I may major in organization and minor in a few other things, but everything I do is going to need to go through the filter of whether or not it aids in my goal of getting organized, creatively and happily!

So, my 1st goal is to get my physical space organized, and it isn’t going to happen overnight. I’m chopping it into small, measurable pieces. Lots of lists going on around here!

My 2nd is to organize my time, and I’m hoping this planner project I’m working on will be be a fun, creative way to do that!

And 3rd, is to organize my mind, and that may be the most difficult goal of all. I have a tendency in my old age to speak my mind too freely, without thinking about how it may come out to the people who matter to me. I don’t know if my filter is broken, or I’m just not thinking enough about what I’m going to say/write before I do it. I haven’t come up with a plan for that yet, but I’m going to be working on it.

I have a saying I love that goes “Sometimes you can be right, or you can be happy. I’d rather be happy.”  I need to add a corollary – “You can speak your mind, but you may have to pay a price for it. Is saying it worth that price?”

Anyway. I’m jumping into the new year full of hope and excitement, hardly able to wait to see what it has in store for me!

If you’d like to read about the words that some of my arty friends are going with, or want to join our blog hop yourselves, come on over!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Sounds like a good strong intention word for the year ahead! C x

    Reply
  2. Organize is also my word for 2014. And, just like you, I need a lot of organization in my life. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

