RSS Feed

Last Minute Preparations…


****Spoiler Alert****

Andra and Meegan! STOP NOW!!!  Don’t read this until after you’ve received your gift from your children!

Well, I’m almost ready for Christmas. Gifts are purchased and many of them wrapped. I still have a couple of stocking stuffers to get (if I can’t talk myself out of it) and one more trip to the grocery store. Then it will be time to sit back and enjoy.

We went light on the goodies this year. I have to admit, I missed the baking, but my booty isn’t going to miss the calories. I LOVE baking, but I love eating the fruits of my labors even more, and I just can’t do that to myself. We are ALL trying to take it easy on the sugar. The one compromise we made was crack fudge (which is just as addictive!) I’ve already indulged, and am going to try hard not to do it again, but I suspect I won’t be able to completely ignore it.

IMG_2630

This is the best fudge on the planet. It started as my mother’s recipe, then I added toffee bits to it (an addition my son-in-laws cousin shared with us – Heaven on earth!)

The kids and I have been busy putting the finishing touches on the gifts they’ve been making for their parents. They’ve been such good sports. None of them are crazy about paint all over their hands, but they did it.

The project is based on one Hannah made when she was kindergarten, only it was done on muslin as a banner. We used cardboard cake bases and acrylic paint.

I painted the kid’s hands, then they transferred the paint to the cardboard in the shape of a wreath.

On Joshua’s wreath we did his hand in 3 different shades of green stacked on top of each other.

wreath2-w

For the girl’s wreath we did Hannah’s hand first, with Bea’s on top in a lighter shade.

wreath-w

Then on the one they did for their Da’, we put Hannah’s hand on the bottom in the darkest shade, then Josh’s in a shade lighter, and Bea’s the lightest.

wreath3-w

Tonight I hot glued the ribbons and added the letter stickers. I think they turned out pretty cute! I think it will be fun to get them out every year, remembering their little handprints.

If I don’t see you before then, have a Merry, Merry Christmas. I hope you will be making wonderful memories.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Those are darling “plates.” I was surprised that the names were stickers. Not sure why it surprised me, but it did.

    Read a gal’s blog tonight who has joined your journal group. She was also showing her washi tape. I got a kick out of the two of you. I predict you’ll be talking tape for weeks to come (grin)

    Have a simply stunning and MERRY Christmas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

