RSS Feed

Preparing For My Year Of Organizing


Okay, now that you’re through laughing, let’s get serious…

I know, I know. I’m 61 years old with little history of being organized, so what are the chances of this being successful? It has occurred to me that it might be an effort in futility. But I have to TRY, don’t I? Life is getting too complicated, and my mental faculties are such that if I don’t finally once and for all start living a more organized life, I’m in trouble. The disorganized mess (both physical and mental) will finally push me over the edge, and I’ll be hiding my own Easter eggs.

I’m starting by exploring my organizational options.

I’ve tried, but I don’t seem to be a “keep-everything-on the-computer” kinda girl. I need it out where I can see it even if I’m not on-line. I need to be able to take it with me if I need to. (Note to self – I’m going to need to start carrying a larger purse.)

So, I’m working on a couple of different options.

The un-calendar sounds like a good one. Someone posted a link about it on Facebook (thank you whoever you are!) I couldn’t decide whether to go with a full sized (8 1/2 x 11) or half size (5 1/2 x 8 1/2) so I ordered one of each. They’re red….I’ll figure out something to do with whichever one doesn’t make the cut. Or both if I find something better.

uncalendar-w

I’ve also signed up for a Facebook Group run by artist Roben-Marie Smith to aid in altering a “Moleskin” calendar (what is that?) so I may get one of those, too, or just figure out how to alter the “un-calendar.” I think there is an actual class you can take as well, but I doubt I’ll do that unless I really NEED to. I’m getting overwhelmed with classes already! My thinking is, if this is boring, I probably won’t keep doing it, so if I’m turning it into a quasi art project, it has a better chance of survival, right? ( The correct answer is a resounding “YES!”)

To further enhance my chance of success, I’m going to go ahead and sign up for Ali Edward’s One Little Word program. She used to do it through Big Picture Classes, but is now hostessing it on her own. It costs $26 through December 31st, then goes to $31 for 12 months of prompts and content. A real bargain if you ask me! It comes with a Facebook page of fellow OLWers to help keep you focused, something I BADLY need. OMG. My last two words have been somewhat easy, comparatively speaking (create, happy.) I’m stepping way outside  my pay grade and comfort zone on this one. “No!” I’m not going to let the negative voices in my head win. It will not be easy, but I can do whatever I set my mind to, and I’m setting my mind to this. But then there’s that additional little problem I have of lack of follow-through…”No, NO!” I’m not listening, she says with her fingers in her ears singing “lalalalalalalalalalalalal!”

As you can see, I have issues. Many. Issues. But, there are over 2 weeks left in the year, and I’m already thinking ahead, and putting a plan in place. That’s a good thing. I’m not procrastinating, and I’m not flying by the seat of my pants. So. That’s showing some sense of organization already.

And really. I can’t be COMPLETELY disorganized. I ran my own business for 20 years, paid my taxes on-time. I know how to plan a huge project, then break it into little pieces to get it done. I chase after 3 little kids and get them all to their activities on the right days, at the right time, sometimes having to come up with crazy logistics. I’ve just let things get a little out of control on the home front. I can get on top of them again. I can.

Now then. I’ve thrown the intention out there into the universe. I’ve got the beginnings of a plan in place. The basic supplies are ordered. I have a support system ready to go. I’m as prepared as I can be. Now I can enjoy the holidays, and start the new year fresh.

Hope your One Little Word preparations are in order. If not, there’s still time. Will you join me? It’s going to be a great year!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

9 responses »

  1. I think it is a worthy goal – looking forward to seeing how that goes – and what in the world an un-calendar is!

    Reply
  2. I even followed the link to the un-calendar and I still don’t know what it is 🙂 Good luck and I look forward to hearing more!

    Reply
  3. One thing I use to keep my small business organized – especially when I go out to meetings. I have a clear plastic file box with a handle. It fits my netbook small computer & mouse/power cords or my tablet, my client note book (each client gets 2 pages for the main projects I’m working on plus email s and phone # as a back up), pens, another notebook for random notes/ideas, a power bar (if I get hungry) and a few other odds and ends. I didn’t get the large on on purpose, I use the computer calendar, but a calendar appt. book would also fit..

    This just holds my essentials, easy to carry and since it’s clear, I can quickly see if I have everything before I walk out the door. however, it works so well, that IN my office, it holds those same items right by my desk when not in use. I kept leaving my notebook all over, then not being able to find it. I am not the most tidy, but these items at the end of the day go back in the box so I can find it the next day. Hope this helps –

    Good luck…I am also reorganizing y space this year.

    Reply
  4. Sorry I’m late visiting tonight. My internet is down and will be for a couple of days, so I’m at my neighbor Sally’s working on her laptop, which is NOT fun. I’m no good with a touchpad because I need a mouse.

    I’m all about organization. I devote time to organizing. I stopped keeping a lot of lists after one day when the first thing I wrote was “make list.” I now make lists when I have a project in mind and go over the steps I need to take. Then I divide it among the areas I keep all my craft supplies and get them to a central location.

    I believe in ZONES for my craft supplies. No sense in being organized if you can’t find something. I keep all my paint in one place, my paper in another, my fabric in another, my solder in another, along with my soldering irons, etc. Designate zones for your supplies and figure out what needs to go in each. Lay out a diagram if you are a visual person.

    I’ll add more when I’m on my own computer. Hope that helps you get started at least. Good luck with your project, and I’ll help any way I can.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: More Planning | Tattered 'n Worn

Leave a Reply

