RSS Feed

What a Dilemma!


I’m experiencing conflicting emotions at the moment – the dread of having to restring the lights on my Christmas tree (which is seriously impacting my enthusiasm for getting the house decorated) and total, bizarro excitement over getting a vintage tree up in the dining room – which will be a first for me.

I had no intention of doing a vintage tree until I went to the vintage craft show the weekend before Thanksgiving, and it was pure lust over all the beautiful trees. I began to fantasize about the possibility – if I’m being candid I did more than fantasize – I went so far as to actually buy a few ornaments and some garland and went through my mental inventory of what I put on my usual tree that I might scoot over to the hypothetical vintage tree. I didn’t really have a plan. I just knew the concept was intriguing.

The idea percolated for a few days. Then I went so far as to google “vintage tree ideas” and 3 hours later was pretty sure it was going to happen. Maybe not this year, but next year for sure.

Then today I went to Hobby Lobby with a friend from out of town. I didn’t REALLY think they would have what I thought I wanted. I can’t remember the last time I saw a silver metallic Christmas tree (other than the little table top ones I got for the kiddles bedrooms) let alone a tall slim-line one that would fit in the little space I have. But I cruised through the tree section (just in case) and there it was. A 6′ silver metallic pencil tree. Perfect (I thought for a split second.) THEN I saw the same tree, but instead of silver, it was champagne colored. The silver paled in comparison, and I knew IT was the perfect tree. Next thing I knew it was in the car going to its new home. (Okay. I confess. It didn’t get in the car by itself. I put it there, and I knew what I was doing. I even walked around the store for nearly an hour with the tag in the cart, thinking about it. Making sure that was REALLY what I wanted to do. So I can’t blame this on being a spur of the moment thing.)

Now I’m afraid to bring it in the house. Not only is my husband not going to be real happy about the new addition, but I’m afraid that by bringing it in, I will jump on getting IT decorated, while giving myself permission to NOT put up the big tree this year. The very idea that the thought has crossed my mind makes me sick to my stomach.

I’m not going to show you a picture yet. (Well, it WOULD be silly to show a photo of a boxed tree in the back of my CRV.) I’m pretty sure it’s going to take me a few days to work up the courage to bring it in. Maybe I’ll leave it out there until I get the big tree up, and bringing the new one in can be my reward?

Why do I do this to myself?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. I am smiling and shaking my head up and down. You better be careful. I have 9 or 11 or 15 trees….I lost count. And they all started just like your vintage tree. One little spark of and idea and ….. Wham ! Another tree. I say put up the vintage one first…before you change your mind and return it.

    Reply
    • Hahahahaha! FORTUNATELY, I don’t have the space. or I’d probably be JUST like you. I’m for sure not going to return it. It’s just a question of whether or not it goes up this year. Thanks for giving me permission!

      Reply
  2. If only I had more room, I’d have more trees. I’ve considered putting one in the barn, but have so far contented myself with a wreath and stockings for all creatures great and small. Can’t wait to see your champagne-colored tree all decorated. I did buy our big live tree today. The liquor store was selling them, so I killed two birds and bought the bourbon for the chocolate pecan pies and got a tree as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

