RSS Feed

Day 12 AEDM – Bummer (updated!)


Just in case you’ve been away for awhile and are wondering what the heck AEDM means, it stands for Art Every Day Month – a challenge I have participated in for the past couple of years. In essence, it is a commitment to do some form of art every day for the month of November.

I don’t know why challenges put on by someone else work so well for me, when challenges I make up for myself are such a bust. Knowing I need to put something out there for people to see every day, makes me allocate time to my “art” that I might be tempted not to do otherwise. Since I LOVE doing my art, it seems weird that I would need someone standing over my shoulder to get me to do it. But there you have it.

So, who is going to hostess a challenge for December so I can continue making progress? Anyone?

Today I spent much of the day doing household stuff – buying groceries, cleaning – yuck, yuck, yuck.

So when I finally sat down to scrap it was such a relief! Until I realized I was out of both adhesive and page protectors, so I went shopping again!

Next thing I knew it was time to get dinner going – green chile cheese enchiladas to go with yesterdays’s pinto beans – yummo. Then we got a last minute invitation from a neighbor couple to come by for a glass of wine. Well, we couldn’t say no to that! When we finally got home, we warmed up the enchiladas, watched “The Paradise” (which we dvr’d Sunday night) and here we are. Time to post, and no actual art done. No, that is an exaggeration. No art done. Period.

Life does have a way of getting in the way from time to time.

*****Late addition! One of my friends/readers suggested that in order to count as art, I need a picture of my purchases, so here it is!

treasures-w

As you can see, I bought a little more than just page protectors, but I forgot adhesive! RATS! I’m going to have to go back tomorrow! Heeheehee!

GRATITUDE:

I’m very grateful to be flexible, and able to roll with what life throws at me. Today it was just a little curve ball.  I’m not going to make myself crazy about it. The day didn’t go quite as I had it planned, and I’m mildly disappointed, but we visited with friends, and that’s important, as well. Tomorrow is another day, and even if it gets away from me, too, my art will still be waiting…I’m only growling under my breath a little bit! Heeheehee!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

9 responses »

  1. Doesn’t shopping for art/scrap supplies count for doing art? It feels fun to me and both make me happy! Some days you invest and sow seeds and some days you produce and harvest!

    Reply
  2. I had one of those days, too. I wanted to sleep all day, but had lots of commitments, none of which involved art. Thankfully, I got my art and post out early today, or I would have had nothing to show, either.

    BTW, shopping for art supplies, then taking photos of your purchase really DOES count.

    Reply
  3. I think it does count as art as if you dont have the supplies to make it how do you do it..

    Reply
  4. Yep, those are art supplies. I’ve seen those snap jobbies that take the place of screws. I understand they are great for adding and removing scrapbook pages. Of course, what do I know? I’ve never created a scrapbook page in my life. Looks like you got a LOT of good things, too. But what is the mod podge for? Is it scrapbook safe? I won’t use it in altered books because the pages stick together when it gets humid in the summer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

