RSS Feed

Day 11 AEDM – Baby Buffs and Pinto Beans


I spent a good portion of the day scrapping – finished the 2 page layout I started yesterday, plus another one from start to finish. Gives me hope that maybe I actually WILL complete the album!

babiebuf-w

The only part left of this segment is the 2 pages of left over pictures to collage.

I’m a little torn about whether to keep going on this album (I’m afraid I may be boring y’all!) or to switch over to the either the Alaska album or the Happiness Art Journal that are both on my list of “hoping to complete by the end of the year” projects. Thoughts?

Today I also made a big ol’ batch of homemade pinto beans. They are soooooo good! And soooooooo easy!

babiebuf7-w

Recipe:

5 cups dried pinto beans

2 small cans diced chilis

2 large onions coarsely chopped

lots of minced garlic (to taste – I use 2-3 large spoonfuls – we love garlic!)

2T salt

black pepper to taste

1T ground cumin

1/4 c chopped cilantro (heaping!)

Soak beans for a few hours in water (or speed soak by boiling for 2 minutes, then let sit, covered for an hour.)

Drain, rinse well, and transfer to a large crockpot. Add all other ingredients plus 10 cups water. Cook on high for approx. 7 hours, adding water if necessary, until beans are soft.

This time I had some hot, hot green chili sauce (from Costco) that I added for a little more zip, and they were especially good, so play with the heat until you get it how you like it!

They freeze well, so I keep a large container in the fridge then freeze the rest in several-serving containers.

GRATITUDE:

I’ve been thinking today about how grateful I am to be at a stage in life when my time is pretty much my own. I don’t have a whole lot of OBLIGATIONS. The vast majority of things I do, I do because I want to do them. It’s a really good feeling. Whether it’s watching the kids, puttering around the house, or just walking around the block – it’s mostly my choice. I’m retired so I have no “boss” to answer to, Mr. Tattered has pretty drastically reduced his expectations, the kids are grown and have their own lives. There ARE good things about getting older!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. You are going to make me appreciate scrapbook pages if I keep coming back here (grin). This two page spread is lovely.

    The pinto beans sound wonderful and crock pot cookery is my kind of cooking. Between slow cooking like that and fast cooking like the microwave, who needs a stove!!!

    Reply
    • Hmmmm….so I’ll have to figure out a way to keep you coming back, huh? Heeheehee! Scrapbooking really is addictive. When I sold scrapbook supplies in my store, I felt like a crack dealer. We always told customers to start scrapbooking at their own risk. I’m glad I didn’t listen to my own advice!

      Reply
  2. That bean picture and recipe has me drooling. Can’t wait to try it. Actually, anything edible would have me drooling right now. I don’t dare go to Pinterest, as I’m prepping for a certain procedure tomorrow (ew!) and haven’t eaten since yesterday. Definitely not a good thing about growing older. I’ll be dreaming about those beans tonight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

