RSS Feed

Day 10 AEDM – Starting on the Red Dog Pages, and Telling the Story


When we arrived in Yellowstone we got into a “buffalo jam” which is a traffic jam, except that there are buffalo on the roadway causing the congestion. The concept just cracks the girls up! One of the first things we noticed was that there were no babies.

Then after a few days, Mr. Tattered noticed some small animals off in the distance and said, “Hey, look! Someone is letting their dogs chase the buffalo!” That didn’t sound right, so we got out the binoculars and were able to determine that they were baby buffalo!

Later we asked a ranger about them, and he told us they call them “red dogs” and they had just been born within the last day or so. How funny that we thought they looked like dogs before we even knew that!

By the next day we were seeing them down on the road and got a lot of up close views. They were so darling! And yes, my camera went crazy – I had NO control of it!

So, now the trick is to find the best shots to tell the story (I think it will take 2 full 2-page layouts) then I’ll arrange the rest onto collage pages. I’ve really enjoyed looking over all the photos. It’s ALMOST as fun as actually doing the pages!

So today I made the paper selection, picked out the photos for 4 pages, did the journaling (1st in pencil, then with a pitt pen) for the first two pages, got the pictures matted, cut out the letters for “RED” and did the preliminary positioning. Not bad for a few hours work!

reddogs-w

reddogs2-w

I’ll go to bed dreaming about how to finish these off. I can hardly wait for Bea to see this layout. She just LOVES the nursing babies!

Gratitude:

Today I am feeling grateful that I have a whole room dedicated to all my art supplies! Is that awful? I so enjoy being able to work on a project and not have to start from scratch with supplies. Or keep everything in boxes in the garage. The room itself is a bit on the crowded side, so I don’t actually work in there a lot, but at least there is a dedicated space for all the stuff. Someday I’ll figure out how to make it all fit and look darling, but for now, just having the space makes me smile!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

12 responses »

  1. Deciding on the paper would put a damper on my abilities, I fear. I seldom use scrapbook paper because I design my own backgrounds from paint, spray mists, etc. The only scrapbook paper I have comes from my scrapbook friend who gives me her leftover bits and pieces. You did a really nice job deciding on the paper and picking the title. Looks like you are well on your way to more gorgeous scrapbook pages.

    Reply
    • I’m a paper ADDICT! I started scrapbooking long before I ever got up the courage to put paint brush to paper. Now, although I would LOVE to use only my own painted backgrounds, I don’t have NEARLY enough time left on the planet to do it all from scratch. So I’ll content my self with “store bought!”

      Reply
  2. This is precious. Have never seen a buffalo in my whole life. I think America hides a fantastic wildlife.Beautiful work, my friend. Greetings from Brazil and happy AEDM!

    Reply
  3. I love the photos of those adorable “red dogs!”
    Having your own workspace is *so* important. You’ll find you get much more progress on projects when you don’t have to put everything away at the end of the day. 🙂

    Reply
    • My house is a wreck from just the few things I drag out as it is. I can’t imagine having to share space for EVERYTHING! I would imagine I’d have far, far fewer supplies. And that would be just unacceptable! Heeheehee!

      Reply
  4. I love how the bison in Yellowstone just let you know you will go at whatever pace they decide. Nothing like one of those big bulls snotting all over the front of your car to get who is boss.

    My studio will never be cute. It’s always messy because I value the creative freedom to leave everything out and ready. There is never enough room either! I think yours is normal 🙂

    Reply
    • I LOVE that Yellowstone is set up for the animals, more than people. It is so cool that THEY have the right-of-way, and we have to wait for them. Of course, that’s half the fun! Buffalo jams are the events we most enjoy!

      I totally get the need to let it all hang out in the studio. But just for a few minutes I’d love to have it look “magazine ready!”

      Reply
  5. I loved reading this little story and seeing how you are bringing it back to life through your pages where it can be enjoyed for years to come!!

    Reply
    • That’s why I love scrapbooking so much – you keep the stories of your life alive! I hate that when I look at some of our old pictures, I have no idea who some of the people are and/or what was going on!

      Reply
  6. Love the red dog pages! I too, have a whole room for my art supplies, but it is our smallest bedroom, so mixed-media plus sewing make it a cramped mess. We have an unfinished room over our garage though, that we’re having finished as my studio. Yay! Can’t wait, then I’ll have no more excuses.

    Reply
    • I keep consoling myself by reminding myself that no matter how much space I have, I would have it just as cluttered. I will expand to fill every inch available! It’s just as well I have to live within the space I have.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

