RSS Feed

Day 2 AEDM – I’m a Croppin’ Fool (and a grateful one!)


Welcome to Day 2 of Art Every Day Month!

If you consider scrapbooking art (and I DO!) then today I arted my heart out for hours and hours and hours! And I actually have quite a bit to show for it, at least in terms of layouts started.

The morning started bright and early as I tried to get a jump on commute traffic going into downtown, headed for a two day crop – Scrapbook Expo – at the Convention Center and 32 hours of cropping craziness! Mr. Tattered (my personal barrista!) sent me on my way with a travel cup of hot, freshly brewed coffee, and I enjoyed it as I rocked out to my country music station all the way in. What a great way to start the day!

I arrived on time, got a good park, and headed in, pausing only to get a coffee refill at Starbuck’s (not as good as what my barrista provides, but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.) The maple oat nut scone helped it go down a little easier.

Then it was off to will-call to pick up my registration packet, which was easy, peasy. I lugged all my supplies to the crop area and finished setting up just in time to make it to the opening of the showroom floor. I did a quick run-through, bought a few little treasures then headed back to the crop area to get to work.

I pretty much had my nose to the grindstone (if you can call something you like doing working!) all day long. I had a bunch of organizing to do before I got to actual production, and I didn’t bring much bling with me, so most of the pages are pretty bare bones. But, progress is progress, and lately any step forward is success!

Today I worked on our last Yellowstone trip. I can’t believe it’s been over two years since we went. SOMEWHERE I have a journal that tells all the stories, and would be a good guide for putting the album in order, but of course, I left it home and am having to rely on memory (Lord help me!) But that’s okay. Getting the layouts started is the important part. I can put them in order and add finishing touches later.

Here’s a glimpse of a couple of pages…

Yellowstonebuffalo-w

Yellowstonelake-w

Normally I go to the crop until midnight then drive home and come back early in the morning, but this year I decided to treat myself to a fancy hotel. It was really nice to just walk across the street instead of driving for 40 minutes!

It practically goes without saying that today I am very grateful to be in a financial position to be able to take a little weekend get-away like this, and to have a husband who is willing to fend for himself while I traipse off. This is certainly not a necessity of life, and I appreciate being able to do it very much!

If you’d like to follow along with others doing Art Every Day, the list of participants can be found at www.http://creativeeveryday.com/

My inspiration for 30 Days of Gratitude can be found at http://yourheartmakesadifference.com/2013/10/invitation-to-join-us-for-30-days-of-gratitude-30daysofgratitude/

I am not following the prompts, as I am more interested in writing what is moving me at the moment, but you’ll find some real inspiration there if you’re trying to make “gratitude” a bigger part of your life!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

16 responses »

  1. I was a scrapbooker many many moons ago. ( I still have all the stuff tho ) and used to go to events and retreats. I do miss those days. I love your Yellowstone pages. One of my most favorite places to visit. I was here on your blog yesterday and got so wrapped up in reading your posts that I am not even sure if I left a comment or not. I love your writing style and I will be back often.

    Reply
  2. Great photos and love what you have done with them 🙂

    Reply
  3. Isn’t it nice to treat yourself once in awhile?! Glad you did and looks like you got a lot done at the crop. Wonderful! Happy AEDM!

    Reply
  4. Very nice layouts and creativity. I too consider scrapbooking a wonderful form of art! Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  5. Scrapbooking is DEFINITELY art! I’ve always though those retreats sound like so much fun! Staying in a spiffy hotel makes it even better! Yay for fun weekends! Happy AEDM! xo, janice

    Reply
  6. Yay for arting your heart out today!! Great layouts!

    Reply
  7. Ahh so lovely you are joining in for the 30 days of gratitude, welcome. Your pages are lovely, cannot wait to see more as we travel the journey together this month. Love AEDM too. woohoo! Louise xxxx

    Reply
    • Thank you, Louise! As I get back in the swing of it, I’m hoping to introduce more mixed media into my scrapbooks! Feeling very grateful to be able to do both! Ha! Gotta love having an attitude of gratitude.

      Reply
  8. Scrapbooking is TOTALLY art! 🙂 Scrapbooking crops are awesome. It has been so long since I have been to one. My only problem with croping with others is that I get too busy looking at everything that everyone else is doing and never end up doing any of my own pages.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

