RSS Feed

Running the Goodie Gauntlet


I’m trying really hard to watch what I eat, and at the top of my list is reducing/eliminating sugar from my diet with exceptions only for the most special of occasions. My record thus far is spotty, doing better some times than others.

Last night I succumbed to a frozen yogurt with the girls. The plan was to take them (I needed to do a little spoilin’ since I’m needing to crack the whip with them most days!) and not have one myself, but next thing I knew, I had a cup in front of me, as well. Which wouldn’t have been so bad if it was JUST the yogurt, but somehow it ended up with hot fudge and some butterfinger crumbles. Definitely not part of the plan.

Tonight, I went down to Wholefoods for fresh veggie juice and Mr. Tattered needed eggs for the morning. Well, the eggs are in the back of the store, so I started there. But then to get to the juice bar, you have to run a dangerous gauntlet…

First past the pastry counter. I can truthfully say I have no idea if they are as good as they look, and I want to keep it that way.

goodiegauntlet4-w

Then there is the “pile-the-cookies-in-a-bag-and-pay-by-the-pound-kiosk” Once again, they look delish, but I don’t want to find out. That is a floodgate I just don’t want to open for fear of never getting it closed again!

goodiegauntlet-w

And as if that isn’t bad enough, the final hurdle is the gelato bar. I am not a stranger to the gelato bar at the Whole Foods we used to go to, which is 30 minutes away, so less inclined to become a serious problem. But so far I’ve managed to resist the one here close to home. I am just so afraid of not being able to resist once I get started.

goodiegauntlet2-w

Whew! I made it all the way to the juice bar without committing any sins, and came away with an Einstein’s Theory for Mr. Tattered, and a Killer Green Buzz for myself.

goodiegauntlet3

I figured I was home free, but alas, Mr. Tattered decided he wanted a frozen yogurt, so stopped to get him one on the way home. I had just had one last night, and made it through the “goodie gauntlet” at Whole Foods unscathed. I was feeling pretty good.

You can see where this is headed?

I stood in front of the yogurt machines and called Mr. Tattered to give him his flavor choices, still not having formed the intent to indulge, but darned if I didn’t end up doing a repeat performance.

I’m such a weenie.

Oh, well, tomorrow is another day. I think I’m going to stay out of any businesses that sell food. It’s safer that way.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Sugar is my downfall too and a lot of low fat or fat free foods are full of sugar. I think you did very well considering you could have had cake or cookies or ice cream!!!

    Reply
  2. Frozen yogurt isn’t such a terrible sin, but the butterfinger crumbles? Now that was naughty. Look at all the bad things you were able to resist, though. I’d say you did pretty well, considering the number of tempting goodies you were up against. Cake and ice cream, i can resist easily enough, but those cookies? My downfall.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

