RSS Feed

This Is My Brain On Art…


I have addressed the issue of my messy art room a few times, but “non-artists” have a hard time understanding why all this stuff is necessary. I’ve had a hard time explaining it until I watched myself cleaning and organizing and realized how I “see” things differently than “normal” people.

I hardly EVER throw anything away!

Check this out. Back awhile ago I bought a a variety of metal pieces to use in a jewelry project. When you look at the photo, what do you see? A filigree piece mounted on a backing, right? You pull off the filigree, use it in the jewelry and throw the rest away.

btainonart4-w

Well, here’s what I see…

brainonart5-w

A filigree piece (which will be used in the jewelry) a piece of wire that will make a cool strand of wire hair for a wooden angel ornament, and a tag, that, with a little paint and embellishing will make a journaling card for a scrapbook page!

Packaging for “ice cream” bars – trash, right?

brainonart3-w

Heck, NO! The reverse side is EXACTLY the right color to make letters for my canvases.

brainonart2-w

And this plastic backing for paper tape should just get tossed when the paper tape has been used – unless it lives in MY world, then it will get modpodged onto a canvas.

brainonart-w

Now multiply those few examples times 10,000 (or more!) and you see my issue!

My brain on art is pretty messy!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Love it! I’m the same way. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

