RSS Feed

Exercising AGAIN!


I do not like exercise.

In a perfect world, watching what one eats would be all that is necessary to lose weight. But my world is far from perfect, and if I want to lose weight, exercise is mandatory. I have tried over and over again to discount that. And it NEVER works. You’d think I’d just accept it, but I act like if I try one more time, I’ll be able to do it.

Well, I give. The universe is obviously reminding me I need to get back to the gym.

So, I went today. After WAAAAAAY too long.

I started with my go to machine – the versa climber. If I have to exercise, it’s my favorite. I was afraid after being off it for so long, getting back on would kill me, but I knocked off 16 minutes easily.

gym3-w

Then I went to my 2nd favorite, a stationery bike with hand thingy dingys (that a technical term!) and did 20 minutes on it.

gym2-w

I finished up with 2 sets of 25 crunches and called it a 1st outing. I guess it’s a good thing that I can smile through it! Heeheehee!

gym1-w

Now here’s the thing with me and exercise. I actually LOVE how I feel once I’m in the zone, which happens at about 15 minutes give or take a few. So my question is, why is it so darn hard to do it when I KNOW how good it’s going to feel? AND, I felt good for hours. I just don’t get it. I should be chomping at the bit to go every day.

The downside is, once I’ve done even a little workout, I think you should automatically be at the weight you want to be – sort of a do-over. If I’m ever in charge of the world, that’s going to be a rule. But, alas, that’s not the case, and I’m going to need to figure out how to make myself do it.

Also, when I get into an exercise routine, I seem to give myself permission to eat a little more than I should. I’m not going to do that this time.

When I got home, I made myself a lovely protein drink. I finally have the recipe perfected for my taste.

6 oz. green juice

6 oz. pomegranate juice

2T almond butter (generous)

1 heaping measure vanilla protein powder

1T cacao powder (or just chocolate protein powder, but I’m out and having to make do!)

1T ground chia seeds

handful crushed ice

1c mixed frozen berries (organic blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, blackberries)

Blend and enjoy. I LOVE this stuff. It tastes like a decadent treat to me. AND it sticks around for hours and hours.

I’m not going to over do it. When I do, I quit. So, I’m going to take it slow this time. I’ll take off a day, then go the next. If I can get in a comfortable “every other day routine” I’ll bump it up to 5 days a week. And if I can keep the appetite under control, I should begin to see some movement on the scale. This losing and gaining the same 10 pounds over and over and over is getting ridiculous. I need to lose too much to keep playing this game.

Then when I’m finally down to where I was the last time I lost a fair amount of weight, I’ll re-introduce my little buttons in a jar for the rest of the weight. If not now, when?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

3 responses »

  1. Good plan!! I love that you are listening to what has or hasn’t worked in the past. xo

    Reply
  2. Oh goodness do I hate exercising. If I think of it as something fun, I can ignore the fact that I’m exercising. Like I am trying to get myself to a Jazzercise class…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

