RSS Feed

My Craft/Scrapbook Hoard


My name is Janet, and I’m a hoarder. Ha! Really, I am. I admit it.

Not a complete off the wall hoarder with stuff in every nook and cranny like you see on t.v. hoarder. Just a craft/art and scrapbook supply hoarder, which is confined to one room. It’s enough.

My friend Naomi (who is, from time to time, my inspiration for blog ideas!) recently posted about how she has organized her scrapbook supplies. I had to laugh, because as much as i LOVE the system she is using, my hoard would never fit into one. Or two. Or maybe even three.

Which makes you have to kinda wonder if I need all the supplies I have. And the answer, to a normal person, would be a resounding “NO!”

But, as we all know, I am not a normal person. Normal in my world is a setting on the dryer, and I rarely use it! “Too many supplies” are not words in my vocabulary.

Although I confess to having a LOT of supplies, my hoard is not COMPLETELY disorganized. There is a rhyme and reason to most of it. If I needed to find a certain something, I could probably find it. It might take me awhile, but I think I could.

So let me show you a little bit of it…

hoard1-w

This is the wall behind the door. It is really unusable space as far as display pieces, so I thought outside the box and came up with a use for the area. Mounting cork board on the wall gave me a place to pin up a variety of embellishments.

 

hoard2-w

This vintage piece was put into service as a place to file chipboard letters. It’s one of my very favorites.

hoard3-w

This shelving unit houses a lot of embellishments including brads, ribbon, stamps, buttons, pens, and boxes of dimensional embellishments.

hoard4-w

I can hardly believe how much paper I have. MOST of it is organized by color or by holiday or season. I still have piles that haven’t been sorted yet, but mostly there is some order to it.

hoard5-w

A whole unit is designated for my silk and paper flowers.

hoard6-w

Two file drawers are set aside for stickers, organized by subject – summer, Disney, Halloween, etc.

hoard7-w

One drawer is full of stick on letters, filed by color.

Now, I have to confess, although these pictures were taken today, so are very current, they DO NOT show the horror that is the overall mess, but rather selected areas that show a basic, underlying organization of sorts. There are still piles and boxes of stuff that have yet to be sorted and put away. But I did want to give myself credit for not being a TOTAL slob.

Deep down I know I have way more than I need. I could probably do 30 albums without buying anything but adhesives. But what fun would that be?

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. can I come play at your house – so many pretty things!!

    Reply
  2. Ooh how I love it! I am jumping up in excitement. I have the same addiction, clearly, as you do! How fun. Does your husband balk at you buying MORE supplies? I have to do it in secret. Hee hee. Never too many stamps and stickers and letters and pens…

    Reply
    • We have an agreement. I get a generous allowance each month, and he’s not allowed to comment on how I spend it, as long as my hoard stays within the confines of “my” room. If I keep being creative in how I fill the room, I can keep buying. Heeheehee!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

