RSS Feed

Because I Want To…


That’s enough of a reason, isn’t it? Or at least it should be. And I’m embracing it.

I’ve caught myself saying that a lot lately. So has Mr. Tattered (catching me saying it, that is!) I think it might be driving him a little crazy, but I like it (HA! Not driving him crazy – I would never INTENTIONALLY do that – or would I?)

What further justification should I have to make at this point in life?

When asked why I’m buying an unusual kind of bread for myself, do I really need to go into a lengthy explanation that I am buying into the whole “wheat belly” thing, and even though my doctor hasn’t told me I need to avoid wheat, I think I need to, so I’m experimenting with different varieties of gluten free products?

Or if asked why I took a picture of the sandwich I just made, do I need to justify it by saying that I’m thinking of doing a blog about healthy living/eating and I need a photo for it? Isn’t “because I want to” enough?

I know. For the sake of marital harmony I should probably take the time to explain. But, really, I’m trying to do more “because I want to” things, so the words are just following that, and besides, it makes me laugh when I say it. And laughing is good, too!

Among the many things I WANT to do are eating healthier, walking more, spending more time in my garden…

So, today while the man was at physical therapy, I walked around and around and around the lobby for no other reason than “I wanted to.”

Then I came home and made a YUMMY sandwich out of the bread I bought because “I wanted to.” And I gotta tell you, it was majorly delish! I used the gluten free bread, toasted just a little, spread with cashew cheese and topped with heirloom tomatoes and avocado. Now the tomatoes are technically fruit, and the avo is fat, so it didn’t really help my veggie consumption, but next time I think I’ll add fresh baby spinach. In keeping with my desire to eat only things that make my mouth smile, this one is a keeper.

glutefree-w

And I used my pretty plate. The non-edible parts of eating need to be more fun, don’t you think?

And, I bought a new plant for the garden. I didn’t need it, but I bought it anyway. Just because “I wanted to.”

As long as what “I want to do” and what I should do remain in harmony, I’m going to like this!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Looks yummy! What kind/brand of bread is it?

    Reply
    • It’s from “Grindstone Bakery,” a small local bakery (Bay Area) that wholesales to Whole Foods, and this particular loaf is called Gluten Free High Flax. It’s very dense and chewy (just like I like it!) and has lots of flavor.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

