RSS Feed

Vegetarian? Um, Not So Much.


The term “vegetarian” is a bit of a mis-nomer for me. Really, I just don’t eat meat. I don’t LOVE veggies. Not even close, unless they are  cooked or spiced in a way that drastically changes their taste.

I know, I’m bad. I SHOULD love them. I TRY to love them. But I just don’t. (Please don’t tell my grandkids!)

But, I am a fan of healthy eating, and vegetables are a part of that, so I force myself. Sometimes more successfully than others.

Raw veggies are best, but the chances of me eating enough of them to get the needed nutrition are pretty much slim and none. So I tried juicing. And there are pros and cons to the methods. A juicer that pulls the juice from the veggies and leaves the fiber behind are a pain to clean, and you’re tossing fiber that is really good for you. The machines that macerate the veggies leave a product whose texture isn’t good, but leave the fiber in the juice and they are easy to clean.  I have yet to find a recipe for either that lights my fire, as in, “can’t wait to make this!”

So, when I discovered that Whole Foods makes fresh juice, I figured I can let them endure the hassle, and at least I can drink the juice. But I still don’t “love” it.

greenjuice-w

Then this morning, when I went to make my fruit/protein smoothie, I decided to try using my green juice for the base. Actually, 3/4 veggie juice, 1/4 cranberry juice. To that I added roasted almond butter, protein powder, chia seeds, and a cup of low glycemic fruit (blueberries, strawberries, raspberries and blackberries) and ice. And guess what? It’s delish!

It doesn’t solve my problems with getting enough veggies, but it’s a good start. Okay, maybe not a GOOD start, but a start. And for me, getting started is the hardest part.

Oh, and that vegetarian thing? I’m going to keep calling myself one. I’m gunna love those vegetables some day.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. Your recipe sounds really good – gotta try it…thanks Janet! I guess I’m lucky – I love veggies so juicing is pretty painless 🙂

    Reply
    • I’m going to continue to try to love them. I’m hoping that as I clear out all the products I use that contain sugar (good grief, it’s everywhere!) they’ll taste better!

      Reply
  2. I don’t love vegetables, either. And I love meat. It’s going to be a long 10 days. 🙂 Way to go on making it work for you, though!

    Reply
    • Not having meat has been REALLY easy for me, but then I didn’t stop eating it for health reasons, so that made it easier, I think. I don’t miss it at all. And if I did, I’d just think about the poor animals, and I’d stop. And if I had a chef cooking for me, I wouldn’t have such a problem with veggies. I just don’t like how much work it is to make them taste amazing!

      Reply
  3. I’m with you on this – I don’t love veggies except for asparagus, but I know I need to eat more. Good thing you found I recipe you actually like. I have a juicer too but use it sparingly because of time and I feel bad “wasting” the pulp. I know I can save it to use for other things but I just don’t.

    Jill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

