RSS Feed

To Decorate or Not to Decorate…


I’ve got to tell you, I feel pretty fortunate that the biggest issue in my life right now is whether or not I’m going to back Mr. Tattered’s car out of the garage so I can get the fall decorations down from the overhead storage.

Ha! Why is this even an issue?

His car scares me. It doesn’t have a nick on it, and I have a FIRM rule. I DO NOT drive the man’s car until it has it’s first nick. And, after his hip surgery, he can’t get into his car right now – it’s too low and would put his body geometry in an unacceptable position.

So. Do I violate my rule and drive it just far enough out of the garage to get access to the overhead storage? Or do I use this as an excuse to not decorate this year?

Really, this is not a mandatory thing.  The decorating police are not going to come by and issue a citation. The kids will live. They might not like it, but they won’t die. Mr. Tattered wouldn’t mind a bit. But how will I feel? Right now, I’ll be fine. I haven’t been sleeping well, and to be honest, I’m tired. The idea of climbing up, retrieving the bins, unpacking everything and placing it just so, then turning around and taking it all down in few weeks isn’t terribly appealing. So is it really the car, or my laziness?

And what will I think later in the month? Will I be mad at myself to the point where I scramble to get it all done before Halloween, only to enjoy it for a couple of days?

“Cuz we’re talkin’ some pretty cute stuff here.

Halloween decor hutch-w

Halloween decor wreath-w

Halloween decor scarecrow-w

Okay. I think I answered my own question. I need to get over my lazy, get over my fear of the “scary car” and get it done.

I now know what I’ll be doing tomorrow.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. yeah! Go for it! You can do it!
    Love your decorations, I miss Halloween, it’s just not the same here!

    Reply
  2. Get that stuff out and decorate I am loving the pictures! found you via blogtoberfest 🙂

    Reply
  3. maybe you could get someone else to move the car – but you will still have to do the boxes!! lol!

    Reply
    • Well, come to find out, I need to drive the stupid thing whether I want to or not – the battery needs to get “exercised!” If I can’t handle the boxes I’ll have to have my son do it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

